2014 Book Reviews

The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

20140218-061821 AM.jpg

Despite the tumor-shrinking medical miracle that has bought her a few years, Hazel has never been anything but terminal, her final chapter inscribed upon diagnosis. But when a gorgeous plot twist named Augustus Waters suddenly appears at Cancer Kid Support Group, Hazel’s story is about to be completely rewritten.

I was given this book as a gift, it’s one I’ve been wanting to read for such a long time. So knowing the movie would soon be out made me get this one read quicker.

Hazel has terminal cancer, she is forced along to a support group by her mother where she meets other teenagers going through similar health issues. It’s at the support group she meets Augustus, who is absolutely smitten with her as soon as he lays eyes on her.

They become the best of friends/boyfriend and girlfriend.

I can’t really say anymore without giving away how it pans out as a story so I’m going to just finish there on telling you about the book.

When it comes to The Fault In Our Stars, anyone you speak to will gush about how amazing it is. Which will always make you intrigued. I read this book in a day, I found it hard to come away from. That wasn’t because I was hooked, I just wanted to get it finished so I could move on.

When I finished it I was sobbing like a little girl. It was an ending I truly didn’t see coming at all. I didn’t write my review straight away because I was unsure how I felt about the book. The more I thought about the book the more annoyed I felt about it.

It was funny, really funny. I really enjoyed that aspect from it. I also really enjoyed the relationship that Hazel and Augustus had it was very honest and sweet.

What annoyed me was the way Hazel and Augustus spoke, I don’t believe teenagers would talk the way they did. I feel like John Green tried too hard to make them seem REALLY intelligent, which then made them unbelievable as characters.

So looking back, I didn’t like this book at all really. Yes it provoked emotions from me and moved me to the point of tears, but I think that’s more to do with the subject of cancer. It’s not something I would read again.

You can get The Fault In Our Stars on both Kindle and paperback.

Have you read it? What did you think?

One thought on “The Fault In Our Stars by John Green

Leave a comment