2014 Book Reviews

The Lemon Grove by Helen Walsh

20140220-071306 AM.jpg

Each summer, Jenn and her husband Greg return to Deia, on Mallorca’s dramatic west coast. This year the arrival of Emma, Jenn’s stepdaughter, and her new boyfriend Nathan threatens to upset their equilibrium. Beautiful and reckless, Nathan stirs something unexpected in Jenn. As she is increasingly seduced by Nathan’s youth and the promise of passion, the line between desire and obsession begins to blur.

What follows is a highly-charged liaison that puts lives and relationships in jeopardy. For Jenn, after this summer, nothing can ever be the same.

Kirsty from The Love Of A Good Book sent me this after I expressed how desperate I was to read it. Thank you Kirsty!

This book has been branded as “breath-taking, gripping, sexy, intense” For me this seemed perfect and I couldn’t wait to get started.

Jenn and Greg are on holiday in Deia alone, enjoying the peace before the arrival of Jenn’s step daughter, Emma, and Emma’s boyfriend Nathan.

Emma and Jenn’s relationship has become more strained over the years as Emma has gotten older and Jenn is starting to feel Emma pulling away. With Greg often siding with Emma. Even though Emma’s fees for a private education is all paid for by Jenn.

When Nathan and Emma arrive, Jenn can’t help but notice Nathan, he looks and acts like a man. He is intense and brooding. He is seventeen and not used to the luxury that Emma has grown up with.

Jenn becomes slightly obsessed by him, I think her loss of her youth is driving the obsession she has. Whereas we are unsure of how Nathan really feels, it felt like it was all just a game for him.

Their “relationship” progresses and we are left with an ending that, if I’m honest left me bewildered.

I wanted to love this book, I wanted to find myself gripped and desperate to finish it. Instead I found I was forcing myself to not give up on it after 2 chapters. The entire book was dull and dragged on to what felt like an utterly pointless story.

I didn’t feel a connection with any of the characters and found them all to be spoilt and not one had a redeeming feature. Also I didn’t feel any of the sexual tension like I should have.

One of the things I did really like was the descriptions used about Deia. It was beautifully described.

Sadly I was left disappointed and flat especially after all the hype this book has had.

The Lemon Grove is available on February 27th and you can pre-order in Paperback and Kindle.

But… We aren’t going to love every book. We would be very boring if we did. Maybe this will appeal to you and maybe you will love it. Let me know what you think if you do read it, I would be interested to hear your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

