Book News

The ACTUAL BEST HOLIDAY READS OF 2017 picked by me!

Hello fellow bookish nerds,

Today I read a piece in The Guardian that gave us a list of “The Best Holiday Reads of 2017” and whilst reading it I cringed at the book snobbery I was witnessing! Now I am not suggesting that people do not enjoy a highbrow read occasionally…. But I have never gone on holiday and wished I had brought along War and Peace to read, and after seeing various tweets about this piece, I realised that I wasn’t the only one of this opinion.

When I am on the beach, If I am not chasing my 6-year-old daughter out of the sea, where she has no fear or sense, or I am not trying to stop my 9-year-old son from digging “all the way down to Australia” (his words) and IF I do even get a moment to open a book, it is almost always lighthearted women’s fiction (Chicklit), something incredibly sexy or a good crime novel that I can sink my teeth into.

It’s ALWAYS something I can escape into, something rather raunchy or something easy-going, and I think if we are truly honest that is the opinion of most of us!

And so this is my alternate list of things that you SHOULD ACTUALLY BE READING ON THE BEACH! I hope you enjoy…

First up is a book MADE for reading on the beach, Big Sexy Love by Kirsty Greenwood

It’s an absolute page turner and chicklit at it’s best, full of belly laughs that will make your face ache from laughing!

Big Sexy Love: A laugh out loud funny romantic comedy by [Greenwood, Kirsty]

 

Next up it’s the STUNNING, The Summer of Impossibe Things by Rowan Coleman

I will never be able to put into words just how breathtaking this book is, an absolute MUST READ!

The Summer of Impossible Things by [Coleman, Rowan]

 

Then we have the simply BRILLIANT, I Know A Secret by Tess Gerritsen.

This is the next in Rizzoli and Isles series and just as unputdownable as all the others!

I Know a Secret: (Rizzoli & Isles 12) by [Gerritsen, Tess]

 

It would be impossible to do a beach reads list without including the Queen of Chicklit Sophie Kinsella, My Not So Perfect Life is easily one of her best books she has written to date!

My Not So Perfect Life: A Novel by [Kinsella, Sophie]

 

Of course no list would be complete if I didn’t mention The Last Piece of My Heart by Paige Toon!

I never thought that Paige would make me love a book as much as I love Pictures Of Lily, but she did it with this latest book…. OH MY!

The Last Piece of My Heart by [Toon, Paige]

 

Then I have The Returning Tide by Liz Fenwick

This is my most favourite book from Liz to date and a beautiful book that must be added to the top of your piles of books instantly! (I have a review being posted soon).

The Returning Tide by [Fenwick, Liz]

 

Of course Sarah Morgan is on my list, OF COURSE SHE IS. Her latest must read is Holiday in the Hamptons and will be coming with me on holiday. (If I can hold out that long).

If you haven’t read a Sarah Morgan book are you even a chicklit fan? That’s the question!

Holiday in the Hamptons by [Morgan, Sarah]

 

Of course we must include the superb C.L. Taylor’s The Escape.

If you want a book that you HAVE to read in one go, because you literally cannot put down, this is your author!

The Escape: The gripping new psychological thriller from the Sunday Times bestseller by [Taylor, C.L.]

 

And last on my list, a book I have just finished… The Honeymoon by Tina Seskis.

This is such a gripping read and one I cannot recommend enough!

The Honeymoon by [Seskis, Tina]

 

And so this is my list of Beach Reads for 2017, a list full of brilliant, gripping and immensely satisfying reads to escape into whilst you drink cocktails and catch a tan on the beach. I hope you see one you like and enjoy them as much as I have!

 

One thought on “The ACTUAL BEST HOLIDAY READS OF 2017 picked by me!

Leave a Reply

