2017 Book Reviews · Blog Tours

Whatever Happened to Vicky Hope’s Back Up Man by Laura Kemp

Whatever Happened to Vicky Hope's Back Up Man? by [Kemp, Laura]

I AM SO EXCITED TO FINALLY BE ABLE TO TALK ABOUT THIS BOOK!

I have quite simply fallen in love with Laura’s writing, she has the ability to make my howl with laughter, but also make me so absolutely obsessed with her characters story that I find it impossible to put her books down! Vicky Hope was no different.

When Vicky was younger, just before she was about to head off travelling with her best friend Kat, she made a pact with her other best friend Mikey, that if they were both single by 30 they would get married to one another.

Vicky and Kat don’t take to travelling like they expected to and it’s this that causes their friendship to break apart…

Fast forward to the present day and we see Vicky coming to terms with the breakdown of her long term relationship that leaves her homeless and heading back to her childhood home. It’s here that she decides to find her two former best friends, Kat and Mickey!

The book tells the story from each best friends point of view, something I always really enjoy, it also gives us flashbacks into the past and how they have each struggled through the past few years and ended up where they are. I found Vicky so likable as a character and there were bits of her that my younger self could absolutely relate to, all I ever wanted when I was growing up was to be married and a mum, for me nothing else really mattered and if anything ever went wrong, I would always run back home to my parents, so I was really rooting for Vicky in every way.

As for Kat, she cannot move on her life until she faces the demons of her early 20’s and her relationship with her mum plays a huge part in that. I found Kat’s story really gripping and I had to keep reading to get back to her chapters and see what would happen next!

Laura manages to be hilarious and heart-warming perfectly, to manage that so effortlessly is the sign of a brilliant writer. Her humor is perfection and never forced and yet again she has written a book that is unputdownable from start to finish!

Whatever Happened to Vicky Hope’s Back Up Man is a story of growing up, friendship and love, it’s full of humor and heart and is utterly addictive from the very first page to the very last!

 

Leave a Reply

