2016 Book Reviews

One With You by Sylvia Day

sylvia-day-one-with-you

‘Gideon Cross. Falling in love with him was the easiest thing I’ve ever done. It happened instantly. Completely. Irrevocably.

Marrying him was a dream come true. Staying married to him is the fight of my life. Love transforms. Ours is both a refuge from the storm and the most violent of tempests. Two damaged souls entwined as one.

We have bared our deepest, ugliest secrets to one another. Gideon is the mirror that reflects all my flaws . . . and all the beauty I couldn’t see. He has given me everything. Now, I must prove I can be the rock, the shelter for him that he is for me. Together, we could stand against those who work so viciously to come between us.

But our greatest battle may lie within the very vows that give us strength. Committing to love was only the beginning. Fighting for it will either set us free . . . or break us apart.

Heartbreakingly and seductively poignant, One with You is the breathlessly awaited finale to the Crossfire saga, the searing love story that has captivated millions of readers worldwide.’

I literally do not know where or how to begin this review…. why? because I will be honest… this isn’t going to be good. And believe me it breaks my heart to say this, because I have loved and adored the Crossfire series from the very beginning! As I have finished every book I have waited in sheer desperation for the next one….. and god knows we waited FOREVER for them!

But before I start on why this book was an utter disaster lets talk about the book!

The fifth book in the Crossfire series sees our golden couple Gideon and Eva planning their second wedding which will involve inviting the most elite of guests. Because as you know in the fourth book they got married in secret and told no one, not even family! And we all know what an overbearing maniac her mother is, so you can imagine how well that goes down.

Not only is the fake wedding being organised, Gideon is STILL fighting his demons and refuses to sleep in the same room as Eva for fear of attacking her…. again. (My god he is a catch!) In this book, both Eva and Gideon are coming to terms with that fact they use sex as a weapon and that they never resolve any arguments properly because Gideon knows how to sex a girl into oblivion and isn’t afraid to do so in order to make the argument go away. So Eva decides to abstain from sex until they get married….. THAT’S RIGHT…… Book four has literally NO SEX. Ok, well there was some, but not nearly the amount we are used to.

Anne Lucas, the crazy woman from Gideon’s past is still lurking dangerously in the background and boy is she out for whatever revenge she can get. Not only do they have to contend with Anne, but we have the delightfully bitchy Corinne, Gideon’s ex girlfriend. You know the one who was madly in love with him even after he finished with her, who hung around in the vain hope that he would eventually come running back to her. Never mind they never slept in the same room the entire time they was dating, because that’s the kind of guy you want to end up with right, ladies? And how can we even forget the wonderful reporter who Gideon took back to his hotel and sexed up then left high and dry! (He must be AMAZING at the sex to have all these nutters after him).

Also we must discuss the fact Gideon’s mother is point-blank refusing to believe anything about what happened to Gideon as child which has caused her marriage to break down! But thank god for Eva because no matter what she has Gideon’s back and will find to the bitter end to stand by his side, through everything he has done and the outrageous ways he has behaved and even with all the insane women trailing in his wake she is still there. And let’s be honest now who can really blame her, because even with all his faults and slightly psycho tendencies he is a bona fide hunk.

Let’s not forget sex crazed and totally fucked up Cary who wants to be in a gay relationship and finally stop fucking anything that walks. But obviously it’s difficult for Trey to even think about forgiving him because he got an absolute bitch pregnant while they were dating and he is now going to be a baby daddy. Poor Trey.

I should now come to an end before i just tell you the entire plot. What I will say is there is a major twist coming…

Now to discuss why I am heartbroken and furious about this book.

First up the sex, or the lack of sex, now I get it shouldn’t all be about sex, and the relationship between Gideon and Eva is compelling enough itself but let’s not forget these are EROTIC books, so the lack of sex is a problem for me. Their sex has always been hot flush inducing, and the fact that we were deprived of unlimited dickscriptions (see what I did there?) of Gideon’s manhood was saddening! I felt the twist at the was absolutely ridiculous and pointless, it felt as though she didn’t really have a story to tell at this point and was looking for some kind of shock factor, only for me it fell very flat.

I think the main reason this book, for me personally, was so terrible was because this and the last book in the series were a huge disappointment. Neither had much plot to them and it became obvious that the story should have been tied up in book three. It felt like they were written for money rather than there was more story to tell because there wasn’t, they were dragged out and dragged out. Cary’s story also feels very unfinished, did he and Trey finally get sorted, did he have a baby boy or girl. I wouldn’t be surprised if he has his own books out at some point in the future. Because let’s face it that’s a money cow right there and seems to be the ‘in’ thing now.

Now I’m not saying I will never buy or read another Sylvia Day book again because I undoubtedly will, I love her books. But I just feel let down by her, because she didn’t write those books for her fans she wrote it for greed and it’s sadly obvious.

I will forever be frustrated because one of my absolute most favourite series of books ended so badly it feels tainted and I would love to erase the last two books from my mind and pretend they don’t exist but in the third book it leaves so many unanswered questions I will forever know they are out there!

But even through my tears of sadness Gideon and Eva will forever be one of my most favourite fictional couples of all time, they have have a love that everyone craves. They crave each other, they literally cannot keep their hands off each other and they fight not only for each other but they fight for their love. That was one thing I actually really loved about this book, with the help of their therapist they were finally learning to lean on each other rather than try to shield each other from all the bad. Rather than hide the things they thought would cause the other harm, they started to share their burdens and mature. I also really enjoyed when they both went off for their stag and hen do’s, I loved the drama that evolves from a press release and how they cope with it together, because they finally learn not to run at the first sign of trouble.

I HATE to give bad reviews, I really do. But if I only ever give glowing reviews they start to come across as fake, so I think it’s important to be honest about a book that I didn’t like. What’s hardest of all is giving a bad review on a series of books that I have loved with my entire heart for many years.

 

Leave a Reply

