2015 Book Reviews · Blog Tours

The Liar by Nora Roberts

image

The extraordinary new novel by the #1 New York Times–bestselling author of The Collector.

‘Shelby Foxworth lost her husband. Then she lost her illusions …

The man who took her from Tennessee to an exclusive Philadelphia suburb left her in crippling debt. He was an adulterer and a liar, and when Shelby tracks down his safe-deposit box, she finds multiple IDs. The man she loved wasn’t just dead. He never really existed.

Shelby takes her three-year-old daughter and heads south to seek comfort in her hometown, where she meets someone new: Griff Lott, a successful contractor. But her husband had secrets she has yet to discover. Even in this small town, surrounded by loved ones, danger is closer than she knows—and threatens Griff, as well. And an attempted murder is only the beginning …’

I would firstly like to say a huge thank you to Clara for sending me a copy of The Liar in exchange for a review copy. This is the first Nora Roberts book I’ve ever read so I was excited to get stuck in.

Shelby Foxworth’s husband, Richard, dies in a boating accident, she is absolutely devestated and heartbroken but the man she thought she knew turns out to have lots more secrets to discover in his death. She is left to settle his estate that she comes to realise that the man who kept her and their daughter living a life of luxury, has actually left her to deal with his crippling debts. The life she has led has turned out to be one complete lie and Shelby soon finds that he was an adulterer, a liar and a con man.

Not knowing what else to do Shelby finds herself moving back home to her family, the family she deserted when she went off to live a life of luxury with Richard. The family she thought she had lost forever, she returns home to fix her and her daughter, Callie’s, life. Being back home she discovers a sense of freedom she never had and Shelby finds hope in Griff a local carpenter who is the polar opposite of Richard. But even so Shelby and Griff are immediately attracted to each other. But not everyone is happy to see her back and Shelby finds her husbands past catching up with, placing her in danger.

As I’ve said before I’ve never read a Nora Roberts book before so I wasn’t sure what to expect, unfortunately I did find it a bit slow to start with and I found myself having to force myself to read it and get stuck in. Once I got about halfway I found it picked up pace and I wasn’t forcing myself to read on anymore but I did guess where the plot was heading. I don’t think that’s a problem though and it didn’t make me want to stop reading. I really enjoyed the relationship between Shelby and Griff and that’s what kept me turning page after page.

I didn’t absolutely love the book but I did like it and enjoy it, I would certianly pick up her earlier books and give them ago.

You can pre-order The Liar now, which will be released on April 16th

One thought on “The Liar by Nora Roberts

  1. I can’t do that with books now – keep reading to the halfway mark. If I’m not enjoying it I put it down. I’ve so many books waiting to be read that I stop. I did actually read halfway into a book recently because the prose was beautiful but I just wasn’t finding a need to pick it back up so I ended up stopping. I used to never give up on books but now – too many books to read 🙂

Leave a Reply

