2014 Book Reviews

Captivated by You by Sylvia Day

The multi-million copy global bestselling Crossfire series from Sylvia Day continues with Captivated by You.

‘Gideon calls me his angel, but he’s the miracle in my life. My gorgeous, wounded warrior, so determined to slay my demons while refusing to face his own.

The vows we’d exchanged should have bound us tighter than blood and flesh. Instead they opened up old wounds, exposed pain and insecurities, and lured bitter enemies out of the shadows. I felt him slipping from my grasp; my greatest fears becoming my reality; my love tested in ways I wasn’t sure I was strong enough to bear.

At the brightest time in our lives, the darkness of his past encroached and threatened everything we’d worked so hard for. We faced a terrible choice: the familiar safety of the lives we’d had before each other or the fight for a future that suddenly seemed an impossible and hopeless dream . . .’

Ok, as always I will be nothing but honest, so here goes..

I think like with most fans of the Crossfire series I was left frustrated at the end of the third book, Entwined With You. I thought that the third book of the series would tie up all loose ends and finish off the series, but it didn’t. It left us with even more unanswered questions and left us slightly disappointed, for me that was the weaker book of the three and I had hope for more. Then comes the news that there was to be TWO more books. I think I, as well as most fans, felt Sylvia had sold out for money, because it felt like there wasn’t any story left to be told. Add that to the long… LONG wait and you can probably understand the fans frustrations.

So when it came to Captivated By You I was nervous and excited. My nerves weren’t helped by scathing Amazon reviews. But after reading it, I actually think the reviews are really uncalled for and I am unsure whether they are genuine because a lot of one stars came on the day of release moaning about the wait for the book etc. Reviews shouldn’t be posted unless they have genuinely read the book, its so unfair to give a one star just because you have waited so long for a book. Now I have read the book I don’t think Sylvia sold out for money at all, there was a story left untold and I was quite simply Captivated.

In Captivated By You, Sylvia has completely grabbed the readers attention with duel points of view from both Eva and Mr dark and dangerous himself. It was SO refreshing and exciting to get into the mind of Gideon, finding out how he is feeling first hand rather than guessing through the eyes of Eva. Captivated finally shows us just how much Gideon NEEDS Eva, we also are privy to the nightmares that haunt Gideon’s sleep. At times I found what Gideon went through hard to read and it absolutely broke my heart. But it made me realise why Gideon was so terrified to let Eva in. He was made to believe that no one would ever love him. It made me fall even harder for that beautiful broken man. Eva is desperately trying to get Gideon to open up more and struggling to come to terms with the fact Gideon may never be open enough or trust her enough.

Not only does Eva have to cope with Gideon, she has Cary, her best friend, who is struggling to cope with the fact he will soon be having a baby with the devil herself and he is also trying to hold onto Trey by the skin of his teeth. As well as trying to help Cary deal with his life, Eva then has her over-possessive mother trying to plan the biggest and most expensive wedding New York has ever seen. But because life is never smooth for these two they then have Gideon’s exes, competitors and then Eva’s own ex thrown into the mix trying desperately trying to come between the two.

I saw reviews saying that this book was a filler and had no story to it. But I have to completely disagree, I felt this was FINALLY the book we have been waiting for. No longer focused on Eva’s issues we finally get up close and personal to why Gideon is the way he is. We have never found out quite so much as we do now and I relished every single bit of it. Eva is as fiery as ever and I love her no nonsense approach to life and men. As always Gideon’s overprotective and dominating nature was everything I wanted and more! I fell in love with their relationship more than ever, I really feel this is the book that shows just how addicted they are to one another. They are obsessed by each other and they NEED each other which in turn make you obsessed by them.

Sylvia’s writing is dangerous, once you start she pulls you in and makes you hungry for more. The queen of sex, she has you fanning yourself down but gagging for more. Eva and Gideon certainly know have to have sex that will have you opening a window on a winters day! I started out worried about this book, but that worry was wasted because Captivated by You HOT, SEXY, FIERY and damn right compelling. Dark, Dangerous and deeply Delicious. An addictive book that was well worth the wait.

One thought on “Captivated by You by Sylvia Day

  1. Totally agree with your review. I couldn’t understand the bad reviews on Amazon. I loved this book and loved Gideon’s point of view. He would do anything for Eva. I didn’t love book 3 but even with that being said……Sylvia Day is a terrific writer and the Gideon/Eva love story has been an amazing journey so far. Can’t wait for the final book.

Leave a Reply

