2014 Book Reviews · Blog Tours

One Hundred Christmas Proposals by Holly Martin

image

The eagerly anticipated follow-up to One Hundred Proposals.

‘If you thought Harry & Suzie’s life couldn’t get anymore sweepingly romantic than Harry asking her to marry him at the end of One Hundred Proposals – think again!

It’s Christmas in a snow-kissed London, and the.PerfectProposal.com have vowed to carry out one hundred proposals in December. No easy task at the best of times – made even more complicated by Harry & Suzie trying to plan their first Christmas and a visit from the dreaded in-laws. But one hundred deliciously Christmassy proposals later they find themselves asking if everything is still perfect in their own relationship….

Welcome back to the divinely warm world of One Hundred Proposals – with a sprinkling of pure, joyful, festive magic.’

Have yourself a very merry Christmas indeed with Holly Martin’s Christmas novella.

HARRY AND SUZIE ARE BAAAAAACK!

image

Now, if you know me, by now you will know that I read a book called One Hundred Proposals and fell completely head over heels in love. In fact I went as far as to say it was the best book I had EVER read. I couldn’t praise enough, I still can’t. I still think about that book all the time. You can read my review of that book here.

Now you can imagine my complete joy when Holly told me about this Christmas novella, tears of joy were shed booknerds!!!

image

I’m always giving Holly these amazing reviews. And sometimes I just wish I had something to say that wasn’t me gushing and fangirling like a six year old.

image

But it’s impossible, Holly has this talent for telling stories and this ability to make grown adults weak at the knees for FICTIONAL characters! I always want to crawl inside her books and live there forever.

I’m not going to go into the story of Harry and Suzie too much in this review as it’s a novella.

Harry and Suzie are back, more in love than ever. Sweetly and sickeningly so! Harry came up with the idea of doing One Hundred Christmas Proposals and so the pair of them are now busier than ever, and the proposals are as big, wacky, cute and perfect as ever. My absolute favourite (it will come as no suprise) was the Harry Potter themed proposal, where Harry and Suzie arranged for letters from “Hogwarts” to fly into a house. (Every Potterheads dream).

As for Suzie and Harry….

Suzie is left wondering why they haven’t got round to getting married yet. She thought they would get married after the last proposal but they didn’t. Then she thought maybe they would marry once they were back in London but still she finds herself just a fiancé, not a wife. Questioning Harry about it, he always shrugs it off. Suzie never doubts how much Harry loves her and presumes it’s something to do with his past that is putting him off from actually going through with the wedding.

But why does it seem like Harry is hiding something from Suzie? Harry tells Suzie that he is popping out to meet Badger so Suzie ends up popping round Jules (who is now madly in love with Badger). But it’s Badger who opens the door, and when Suzie questions why he isn’t with Harry, it seems that Badger has no idea what Suzie is talking about!

image

It’s ok though, Badger got it wrong and forgot. But why is he giving Jules THAT look?

Thoughout the story it is clear that Harry is up to something, but what? Well you will have to find out!

As for Jules and Badger, they are still hiding their relationship from Suzie’s parents because they are concerned it will hurt them to see Jules has moved on after the death of Jack. So when Suzie’s parents suprise them by turning up unannounced Badger ends up hiding in a cupboard.

George, Suzie’s dad is THE BEST! I absolutely adored him. As for Beryl, Suzie’s mum, ugh!

Right that’s it! That’s all your getting.

To say I read this book would be a lie, I devoured it. I binged on it like it was chocolate cake then felt guilt when it was over because I rushed it. I wanted to savour every single word but Holly doesn’t allow for that. She writes to get you addicted to the world she has created.

Harry and Suzie are quite easily my favourite fictional characters ever created. They are simply adorable, their love for one another makes it hard, as a reader, to not want exactly what they have. I’m their biggest cheerleader and I think they NEED to come back… say around Valentines Day…. so Holly Martin a wee Novella on Valentines Day? PLEASE? DON’T LET YOUR BIGGEST FAN DOWN!!

image

image

Holly writes with complete ease and and perfection. Not only are you invested in Harry and Suzie, you become invested in Jules and Badger too.

Oh… HOLLY! WRITE JULES AND BADGERS STORY TOO!!!! Perfect, the Valentines Story can be Harry and Suzie arranging a proposal for Jules.

image

image

Anyway… to the point!
One Hundred Christmas Proposals is the PERFECT story to curl up to with a cup of hot chocolate and a blanket. It will have you laughing and crying tears of happiness. It is just utter perfection and I never want Holly to stop writing stories on Harry and Suzie.

Compelling, romantic, fun, sweet and magical. I LOVED LOVED LOVED this book. Holly Martin is a genius and with every story I fall a little bit more in love with her.

You can buy One Hundred Christmas Proposals here.

Leave a Reply

