2014 Book Reviews

Pieces Of You by Ella Harper

image

‘Lucy. I don’t even know how to start this letter.
Something happened. Something terrible . . .

Lucy was always sure of one thing – her future with husband and soulmate Luke. But after eight long, heartbreaking years trying to have a baby, that future is crumbling before her eyes.
When a terrible accident puts Luke into a coma, Lucy is forced to reassess everything she thought she wanted.

Then a woman arrives with a shocking secret that will force Lucy to make the hardest decision of her life.’

Thank you so much to AVON for sending me this book. I don’t even know where to start, this is genuinely one of best book I have ever, EVER read. I’m not sure exactly what I was expecting but I know that what I got was just jaw dropping, heart stoppingly (I may of made that word up!) good.

Once I started this book it became glued in my hands, everywhere I went I went with my nose firmly wedged between the pages. My family lost me for an entire day and I came back to them broken! This book BROKE ME. I sat in silence and SOBBED for a full hour once I had finished it. I wanted to come away from the book and hate Stella, the cause of Lucy’s utter dispair but I couldn’t. I couldn’t possibly hate her because Ella has created characters that only deserve sympathy and no matter how much I wanted to hate her I couldn’t. 

The book is told from a few perspectives. Lucy’s perspective is in the present day. Lucy and Luke’s story fills in how they met and fell in love, then struggled to conceive a much wanted baby. Their struggles with IVF and their utter dispair and heartbreak every time they lose another baby. Now in the present day Lucy is pregnant again things are starting to look more hopeful, but they hide their secret from everyone, terrified to get excited. But as Lucy is lying in hospital losing yet another baby what she doesn’t know is Luke is lying in the same hospital in a coma! We also have the perspective of Luke’s mum, a widow, who has never moved on from Luke’s dad’s death. You also have Nell, Luke’s sister, who is hiding a secret from everyone.

Lucy and Luke have the perfect marriage. Lucy could never understand why someone as beautiful as Luke could ever fall in love with someone as plain as her. But to Luke she is the most beautiful girl in the world. But the desperation to have a baby and the heartache of losing a baby every time she falls pregnant is starting to cause a strain on their marriage. But Luke is unwavering in his support of Lucy.

When Luke is in a coma, she has to deal with the loss of her latest unborn child and the fact she may now lose her husband. On top of that Stella enters their lives and quite literally breaks what’s left of Lucy’s heart.

I want to just talk and talk and talk about this book. It is just absolutely outstanding. But if I keep talking I will just ruin it. I know the blurb seems to give much of the story away,  but there is SO much more to the story. That blurb is very clever, because it gives off this air that you know what you are in for, but believe me you have no idea!

Ella has written a story that is just impossible to put down. With every chapter she leaves you desperately wanting more. Everything that Lucy is dealing with, you personally feel it too. It’s impossible not to, Ella’s writing is both powerful and thought provoking, I constantly found myself wondering what I would do or how I would feel in Lucy’s situation.

I’ve been in that desperate situation of wanting a baby. Thankfully I’ve never lost a baby, but the trying and every month realising that yet again you aren’t pregnant is soul destroying. So I really empathised with Lucy and I really felt her desperation.

Ella’s writing flows beautifully throughout and will melt even the hardest of hearts. Pieces of You is stunning, compelling, heartbreaking and will leave you desperately wanting to force it into people’s hands!

Buy Pieces of You here.

2 thoughts on “Pieces Of You by Ella Harper

Leave a Reply

