2014 Book Reviews · Blog Tours

After by Anna Todd.

Before I even review this book I feel I need to clear a few things up.

1. I DON’T LIKE ONE DIRECTION
2. I am a 27 year old mum and wife, I think I missed out on this particular fandom by a good few years!
3. When I was asked to review this book I had NO IDEA it was fanfiction.
4. I also had NO IDEA about how much a group of spotty little teenagers hiding behind a computer screen, hated it.
5. I also never expected so much hate and anger directed at me from said teenage fans, just for reading it. I got told I was in support of abusive relationships for reading After, which apparently glamorises abuse. I think their reasoning behind their arguments is wildly insane. Because a book handles such issues does not mean it is glamorising it. Many, many books have very similar story lines as do tv shows and films. If their argument included all those it would make their points valid, instead it’s made them look like the children they are, and this witch hunt they have against the author pointless and plan nasty. As for those who are claiming it’s going to paint their beloved Harry in a bad light, IT’S FICTION, IT’S NOT ACTUALLY HARRY. Hardin isn’t a band boy, he is a boy in college who looks like Harry.

But enough of that let’s get to it.

image

There was the time before Tessa met Hardin, and then there’s everything AFTER… Life will never be the same. #Hessa

Tessa is a good girl with a sweet, reliable boyfriend back home. She’s got direction, ambition, and a mother who’s intent on keeping her that way.

But she’s barely moved into her freshman dorm when she runs into Hardin. With his tousled brown hair, cocky British accent, tattoos, and lip ring, Hardin is cute and different from what she’s used to.

But he’s also rude – to the point of cruelty, even. For all his attitude, Tessa should hate Hardin.nd she does—until she finds herself alone with him in his room. Something about his dark mood grabs her, and when they kiss it ignites within her a passion she’s never known before.

He’ll call her beautiful, then insist he isn’t the one for her and disappear again and again. Despite the reckless way he treats her, Tessa is compelled to dig deeper and find the real Hardin beneath all his lies. He pushes her away again and again, yet every time she pushes back, he only pulls her in deeper.

Tessa already has the perfect boyfriend. So why is she trying so hard to overcome her own hurt pride and Hardin’s prejudice about nice girls like her?

Unless…could this be love?’

A massive thank you to Kate for sending me this book. I really appreciate it.

I’m going to be brutally honest in my review as I always am. I want to start by saying that when I found out that this was One Direction fanfiction a little of me died inside and my brain wanted to runaway in protest. I’m too old be even remotely interested in One Direction, let alone any books that have been created in a roundabout way about them.

But I somehow found myself engrossed in the storyline and sitting up until the early hours desperately reading it to see what would happen next. I expected it to be hugely related to a boy in a band and was happily surprised to find it wasn’t in any way. The only likeness I discovered was Hardin was the image of Harry, even down to his tattoos.

Hardin is your typical bad boy, covered in tattoos,  arrogant, over confident, mean but utterly charming and swoon worthy. Yep! I’m not ashamed to admit I fell for that boy’s charms.

Tessa was your typical good girl, almost too good in fact. She had been with her boyfriend Noah for years and lived under the control of her mother, who didn’t even find perfection good enough.

Now has come the time for Tessa to grow some wings and become independent. She is now at Uni and Hardin immediately catches her eye. He is the complete opposite to her and he is very rude to her. But that doesn’t stop her falling under his spell.

As the story progresses we watch Hardin treat her badly and Tessa still go back for more over and over again.  Defying her mother for the first time in her life and standing by Hardin who blows hot and cold more than the weather.

Hardin has many secrets and is undeniably selfish in every way possible. He tries everything in his power to hide his feelings from Tessa and when he does give in to them he hides her away from his friends.

When alone with Tessa, Hardin is a boy madly in love and the sweetest, kindest, fun person to be around but he can flip in a second and they will be screaming and arguing.

Tessa, in my eyes was no angel. In fact in parts of the story I hated her. She had this need to control Hardin and got involved with his family, knowing how strongly Hardin was against it. This really irritated me. I didn’t get her need to stand by them over him. Especially when she hardly knew him.

The ending of this book absolutely floored me. And I wanted to scream and throw it across the room. I genuinely felt devestated and furious, absolutely furious.

But even though it left me feeling like that, it made me love it all the more. Because for me personally I want a book that will elicit emotion from me. I want to feel something and wether it’s want I want or not, to make you feel the emotion of a character is a very brilliant and clever thing to evoke in your readers.

Wether I wanted to or not I was completely compelled and I now need to read that next book. I need to see how this story progresses. Which is a huge surprise because if I’m honest I expected to absolutely hate After, in fact I wanted to hate it. But I didn’t I bloody loved it.

2 thoughts on “After by Anna Todd.

  1. I just want to thank you. Ive seen so much hate towards Anna its good to see something positive. I want to apologies for the way other fans attacked you. They supposedly see this hurting Harry Styles when its not even about him. So anything doing with the book they bash quickly ask questions later this fandom is HARSH.

Leave a Reply

