#SexMeUpReadathon · 2014 Book Reviews

Eyes Wide Open by Raine Miller

20140725-070044 AM.jpg

‘Big surprises are on the horizon for Ethan and Brynne as they struggle to adjust to what life has thrown at them. Demons from the past are threatening to destroy the passionate bond they’ve forged despite their vow that nothing will ever keep them apart.

A truly devastating loss coupled with the promise of a new hope opens their eyes to what is most important, but is it possible for the lovers to move on from the painful histories that continue to haunt them? A stalker is still lurking in the shadows, plotting evil amidst the distraction of the 2012 Olympic games in London.

Brynne and Ethan are on the cusp of losing everything as the stakes rise. Will they yield to circumstances beyond their control or will they give every ounce of fight they have left to save each other and win the ultimate prize of a life together?’

If you haven’t read the previous two book in this series, again this may have spoilers for those two books. You can read my reviews for both books, they are Naked and All In.

With Eyes Wide Openwe take off right from the end of the last book. Ethan is taking Brynne to his sisters mansion to get away, after the video and song being sent to Brynne’s phone causes Ethan to go on red alert.

I’m not going to go into all the details of what happened in the book since I don’t want to give anything away.

I found this book a bit of a slow starter for me but while it went slow we had LOTS of hot sex scenes that will leave you all hot. It isn’t until about halfway when we actually get a bit of action going on. I actually worked out who Byrnne’s stalker was, which kind of ruined it for me. Although other things went in that I did not see coming so was rather open mouthed at it all.

In this book Ethan actually puts me right off of him, he starts out as this dominating and powerful man and by book three is completely needy and dependant on Byrnne, now I’m all for a man coming undone at the hands of a woman but not to the point that they become a wet mess. I wanted to slap him and tell him to grow a pair, many times.

Byrnne annoyed me as well, she seemed to become really meek, what happened to being strong and independent? Also she frustrated me so much, she bared her soul to Ethan yet allowed him to never talk about his past properly. Anytime he did talk about it he finished the conversation with sex. This soon became boring.

But having said all of that I did still enjoy parts of it, and I did feel compelled to finish it. Which is both confusing a tad annoying. The book was duel narrative, which is always enjoyable because you get to see how each of them is feeling, something I really enjoy.

I know there is a fourth one out and I can’t really imagine why, I don’t know how else this story can progress. But having said that I will get it and read it because I want to know.

You can get Eyes Wide Open in both paperback and on kindle.

Leave a Reply

