#SexMeUpReadathon · 2014 Book Reviews

Wallbanger by Alice Clayton

20140720-075356 PM.jpg

‘Caroline Reynolds has a fantastic new apartment in San Francisco, a KitchenAid mixer, and no O (and we’re not talking Oprah here, folks). She has a flourishing design career, an office overlooking the bay, a killer zucchini bread recipe, and no O. She has Clive (the best cat ever), great friends, a great rack, and no O.

Adding insult to O-less, since her move, she has an oversexed neighbor with the loudest late-night wallbanging she’s ever heard. Each moan, spank, and–was that a meow?–punctuates the fact that not only is she losing sleep, she still has, yep, you guessed it, no O.

Enter Simon Parker. (No, really, Simon, please enter.) When the wallbanging threatens to literally bounce her out of bed, Caroline, clad in sexual frustration and a pink baby-doll nightie, confronts her heard-but-never-seen neighbor. Their late-night hallway encounter has, well, mixed results. Ahem. With walls this thin, the tension’s gonna be thick…’

I had heard such rave reviews and comments from this book that I had had my eyes on it for a really long time. But the synopsis kept putting me off a little, so when it went down to 99p I decided to go for it.

Now I have to be honest, because I cannot lie as it then makes all my reviews pointless. On finishing this, I’m still completely and utterly unsure about how I actually feel about the book. Did I love it? Some bits. Did I hate it? Some bits. Would I read another of hers? Probably not.

Wallbanger is about Caroline, she is a seriously sexually frustrated girl. This girl really needs a bit of action, she hasn’t had an orgasm since forever. Then she moves into her new apartment and at night her neighbour has very noisy sex with a string of ladies that has his bed banging against the wall, giving him the nickname Wallbanger.

Caroline is furious, she is jealous and sleep deprived so heads on over there to give him a piece of her mind. Only he is hot which makes it harder to hate him, but oh she does hate him. Because he is an obvious player and is causing her sleepless nights.

The pair of them end up becoming friends and the sexual banter between the two had me howling with laughter. They are clearly attracted to each other and Wallbanger doesn’t hide that fact, but Caroline is determined to keep her distance, she doesn’t want to be another notch on his bedpost. Even though she cannot control her body’s desire that screams for him.

Parts of this book genuinely made me laugh so hard, then other times I found the humour forced and uncomfortable. I really enjoyed how their relationship progressed, but at times I grew tired of it and felt it was really dragged out, other times the sexual tension was built up brilliantly. I loved parts and I hated pats, it’s so frustrating. There was no middle ground for me, I either adored it and couldn’t stop reading or I was growling in frustration and wondering why I was still reading.

My biggest annoyance was the cat, Clive. I did not get that AT ALL! When he had his own chapter in his own words is when I really lost it. WHAT IS THE POINT OF THAT? REALLY? It felt so pointless and stupid and by that point I was wishing it was over and done with.

BUT, having said all of that, like I said before there were parts I absolutely loved and found difficult to put down. When the humour wasn’t forced it was absolutely spot on and laugh-out-loud funny.

Sadly for me, this isn’t one I would particularly pick up again. Nor would I read the sequel. Have you read it? What did you think? Let me know!

You can get Wallbanger in paperback and on kindle.

Leave a Reply

