2014 Book Reviews · Favourite Books

An Evil Mind by Chris Carter

20140707-061458 AM.jpg

A freak accident in rural Wyoming leads the Sheriff’s Department to arrest a man for a possible double homicide, but further investigations suggest a much more horrifying discovery – a serial killer who has been kidnapping, torturing and mutilating victims all over the United States for at least twenty-five years.

The suspect claims he is a pawn in a huge labyrinth of lies and deception – can he be believed?

The case is immediately handed over to the FBI, but this time they’re forced to ask for outside help. Ex-criminal behaviour psychologist and lead Detective with the Ultra Violent Crime Unit of the LAPD, Robert Hunter, is asked to run a series of interviews with the apprehended man.

These interviews begin to reveal terrifying secrets that no one could’ve foreseen, including the real identity of a killer so elusive that no one, not even the FBI, had any idea he existed …until now.

Massive thank you to Jamie at Simon and Schuster for sending me a copy of this book. I was so excited to read the latest book from Chris that I started it instantly.

I discovered Chris last year when I was asked to review One By One, after reading that I bought Chris’s entire back history and devoured each and every one. So it’s safe to say I’m a HUGE Chris Carter fangirl now.

An Evil Mind… Wow! I’m literally struggling to find words to describe just how brilliant this book is.

Chris is an evil genius who refuses to let you pause for breathe. He writes short chapters, which I love but leaves a cliff hanger at the end of EVERY SINGLE ONE which means you can never leave the bloody book alone. Well played Mr Carter. I simply devoured this book with a racing heart and nerves that may never come back to me.

Chris writes to thrill and terrify in equal measure and does so with complete ease. You will never feel at ease with a Chris Carter book in your hands.

An Evil Mind, where do I start. It starts with a bang that’s for sure, a truck is heading towards a little cafe in the middle of nowhere, as if by a miracle it somehow misses the cafe and crashes into a side building. But in it’s destruction it hits one of the cafe’s customers cars and reveals two severed heads.

The owner of the car is given over to the FBI and he refuses to talk for days, he is a machine, he is impossible for anyone to read. They have never quite met a man like this before. Then on the sixth day he says only one sentence, he wants Detective Robert Hunter.

Hunter was supposed to be going on holiday but when he is showed a photo of the man all that changes. Hunter knows the prisoner, they went to Uni together, they were the absolute best of friends. But drifted apart as life went on. The prisoner pleads to Robert to believe that he is innocent, that he got mixed in with a very bad crowd and that he was only a delivery guy. But is he telling the truth and if he is can Hunter help him?

I could go on and on about this book, there is so much I could talk about but I don’t want to ruin it for anyone. This is one of those books you just HAVE to read. I cannot urge you enough to pick this book up. It’s without a doubt one of the best books I’ve ever read.

I have such a crush on Robert Hunter at the moment. In this book we find out SO much about his past and have to watch him cope with situations that you wouldn’t wish on your worst enemy. He is one of my all time favourite characters and I never want this series to end.

An Evil Mind is clever, compelling, gripping and utterly terrifying. You will not be able to put this book down or read it fast enough.

Dark, Dangerous and deeply disturbing. Without a doubt a book to read with the lights on and the doors locked.

An Evil Mind is out July 31st and available on Kindle and in paperback.

10 thoughts on “An Evil Mind by Chris Carter

  1. Can’t wait to get my hands on this bad boy. Absolutely love Chris Carter, and am a little bit in love with Robert “I read books” Hunter ❤

  2. Hey, I like your review. I simply love Chris Carter. He writes my kind of books – dark, with so much suspense, no love story (thank God), simply genius, with right doses of action and psychology. And “An evil mind” was a masterpiece. God, Lucien… I couldn’t believe what I was reading. Can I ask you to recommend something to read after this book? After reading all 6 novels in record time, everything else is kind of… colorless for me. I’d very much thank you if you could introduce me with an author like Chris. I like this kind of detective novels, where the love story isn’t the most important thing in the plot.

    1. Have you ever read anything by Tess Gerritsen? She has a series of books and also stand alone novels, I’ve read them all and they are so addictive! The Surgeon is the start of the series. My favourite stand alone is The Bone Garden.

Leave a Reply

