2014 Book Reviews

Beautiful Oblivion by Jamie McGuire

20140619-092218 PM.jpg

The Beautiful Disaster phenomenon continues in the first heart-pounding new adult romance in The Maddox Brothers series.

Fiercely independent Camille “Cami” Camlin gladly moved on from her childhood before it was over. She has held down a job since before she could drive, and moved into her own apartment after her freshman year of college. Now tending bar at The Red Door, Cami doesn’t have time for much else besides work and classes, until a trip to see her boyfriend is cancelled, leaving her with her first weekend off in almost a year.

Trenton Maddox was the king of Eastern State University, dating co-eds before he even graduated high school. His friends wanted to be him, and women wanted to tame him, but after a tragic accident turned his world upside down, Trenton leaves campus to come to grips with the crushing guilt.

Eighteen months later, Trenton is living at home with his widower father, and works full-time at a local tattoo parlour to help with the bills. Just when he thinks his life is returning to normal, he notices Cami sitting alone at a table at The Red.

As the baby sister of four rowdy brothers, Cami believes she’ll have no problem keeping her new friendship with Trenton Maddox strictly platonic. But when a Maddox boy falls in love, he loves forever – even if she is the only reason their already broken family could fall apart.’

In the first instalment of The Maddox Brothers series, readers can experience the rush of reading Beautiful Disaster for the first time, all over again.

Firstly I must shout about my absolute undying love for Kate at The Hot Bed for sending me a copy of Beautiful Oblivion, I actually SQUEALED when I held it in my arms and I am not ashamed to admit it, I may of danced.

dancing animated GIF

I am such an unashamed fangirl of Beautiful Disaster and Walking Disaster and literally FORCE people to read them. I absolutely ADORE Travis Maddox, so when I heard Jamie was writing another book involving his VERY HOT and practically identical brother Trent I DIED OF EXCITEMENT!

harry potter animated GIF

I will be honest that when Beautiful Disaster and Walking Disaster finished a part of me died, I didn’t know how to continue with my normal life. I didn’t know if I would ever experience happiness again but then came Beautiful Oblivion.

dancing happy excited jimmy fallon

Oh god, I imagine when this review is read by anyone it will be mainly shouty caps and ALL THE FEELS. I apologise to you now. If you are offended by shouty and caps and all the feels, leave now because here I go….

I didn’t prepare myself for this book, In fact I don’t actually believe one can “prepare” for it. But I never EVER imagined that Jamie would ever make me doubt wether Travis was my one and only, but then she gave me Trent… And OH. MY. GOD. (My order? I’d like a Travis and Trent sandwich please!).

Sorry I’m getting caught up by that manly, tattooed, muscly goodness!

The story…

This book is all about Cami and Trent. Cami works at The Red, the bar featured in Beautiful Disaster and Walking Disaster . It’s not set after these books, it’s set from the very beginning. So in Beautiful Oblivion we get to see snippets of Travis and Abbey all over again but from outsiders points of view, which is fucking genius Jamie, take a bow!

Cami works at The Red, studies and has the most perfect boyfriend T.J. Only T.J lives in California and doesn’t really act very bothered about Cami, he hardly calls or texts and they hardly see each other and he keeps their relationship very secretive. Which Cami is only too happy to go along with.

The Maddox boys are well known for their fighting and man-whore ways. And Cami knows them only too well, she went to school with Trent and has vowed never to become another notch on his bed post. Only Trent has other plans. He has his eyes on Cami and views her boyfriend as a minor “speed bump”.

Cami is positive she can resist Trents charms and continue with being friends, but the chemistry between them is electric and heightens what’s missing between herself and T.J. Cami has to fight everything in her power to keep Trent at arms length and Trent plays dirty!

I’m not going to go into huge detail about the story, because I know there are proper fans (like me) who are desperate to get their hands on a copy and I would hate to find out too much about it.

There wasn’t ONE THING I didn’t absolutely love about this book. Getting snippets of Travis and Abbey were like little slices of heaven. I loved loved LOVED it so much and it’s left me gagging to go back and read them again!

Trent, oh Trent! I absolutely fell in love, I’ve got it bad. He was naughty, loyal, cheeky, charming, funny and HOT AS HELL. He was so open and honest about his feelings for Cami. I was rooting for him the entire time and desperate for Cami to finish with T.J and let Trent love her. He was fighting demons from his past and has the readers wishing they could crawl inside the book and be the one he holds and protects fiercely.

Cami, well she was bloody brilliant. She took no shit and knew exactly how to handle Trent! But oh man she made me frustrated sometimes, I wanted her to finish with T.J and run into Trents arms, literally. But she was hiding secrets for T.J and felt bound to him. Her family were awful and it made me sad to imagine her childhood and the demons she was constantly facing, but Trent being by her side, even as a friend I felt made her stronger and free.

Raegan, this is Cami’s best friend, work mate and flat mate. I really liked her but oh man I wanted to punch her at one point. She had a brilliant relationship with Kody, another worker at The Red. But every time Brazil (from Beautiful Disaster and Walking Disaster) clicked his fingers she went running. Brazil was her first love and you never recover your first love.

So Jamie, I’m pleading with you, SURELY YOU GOTTA WRITE A STORY ON THOSE THREE?

Beautiful Oblivion is to readers what chocolate to a chocoholic is. Your entire body craves it until you cannot take anymore and once you get your hands on it you binge until its gone and you are left on the floor sobbing and asking yourself WHY DID I READ IT SO FAST? WHY IS IT OVER? WHHHY?

File:Why.gif

Jamie writes in the most addictive way and causes heart-stopping, jaw dropping moments that will literally FLOOR YOU!

http://media.tumblr.com/tumblr_ltudb4vZft1qjokxe.gif

 

Beautiful Oblivion is insanely gripping and one of those books that is read in one sitting, because no matter how hard you try and put it down, you won’t, until it’s over and Jamie has well and truly played with your emotions and caused your brain to explode.

I cannot urge you enough to pick up this book, seriously just do it! If you haven’t read the previous books, go for it you have time to read them before this is released. Do it and fall in love HARD!

Pre-order now in paperback and on kindle NOW NOW NOW!!!

Leave a Reply

