2014 Book Reviews

Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

blog

GOOD GIRL
Abby Abernathy doesn’t drink or swear and she works hard. Abby believes she has buried her dark past, but when she arrives at college, her dreams of a new beginning are quickly challenged by the university’s walking one-night stand.

BAD GIRL
Travis Maddox, sexy, buil, and covered in tattoos, is exactly what Abby needs- and wants -to avoid. He spends his nights winnning money in a floating fight club, and his days as the notorious college Lothario.

IMMINENT DISASTER
Intrigued by Abby’s resistance to his charms, Travis tricks her into his life with a simple bet. If he loses, he must remain celibate for a month. If Abby loses, she must live in Travis’s apartment for the same amount of time.

OR THE START OF SOMETHING BEAUTIFUL
Either way, Travis has no idea that he has met his match. Or that this is the start of an obsessive, intense relationship that will lead them both into unimaginable territory…’

Ok, I know this book is like marmite, you either love it to the point of insanity or you hate it with an absolute passion and I get that Travis acts slightly out of control sometimes but I DON’T CARE, IT’S FICTION!!!!! I love this book so much it hurts, I also love Travis so much it hurts.

I have no possible way of ever putting into words just how much I love this book. For about three weeks I passed this book and I pretended it didn’t exsist, i wasn’t supposed to be buying books but this one kept calling me, I eventually gave in and as soon as I started it I genuinely did not put it down until later that night, when I had finished it. I was exhausted, I went through every emotion possible whilst reading the book and at one point I wasn’t sure I was going to come out in one piece.

Beautiful Disaster consumed me and made me fall in love like a psyco.

After finishing it I couldn’t be parted from I and just held it close.

The book opens with Abby being dragged along to watch an illegal fight by her best friend America. It’s there that she first meets Travis, he is fighting. They catch each others attention and instantly Abby knows that he is the kind of guy she absolutely has to avoid.

Only it’s not that easy, America is dating Travis’s best friend and Travis most certainly had his eyes on winning Abby. But Abby doesn’t fall for all that macho bullshit and makes it very clear that she isn’t interested in him.

Abby is the only girl who hasn’t fallen for Travis with one look and Travis likes that, so he makes her his best friend. Soon enough they are spending every second of the day together, Travis isn’t just some dumb hot player, he is really smart and helping Abby with her college work.

After losing a bet Abby finds herself living with Travis for a month, the whole college are talking about them and presume they are a couple. Abby is humiliated because she worried people think she is one of his “girls”. So Travis decides to prove to everyone they aren’t together.

As for Abby she starts dating Parker, exactly who she thinks she should be dating, smart, clean cut and no signs of tattoos, motorbikes or fighting. Poor Parker has to pick Abby up for dates from Travis’s and becomes a pawn in their games.

But both of the games Abby and Travis are playing is causing each of them to hurt each other. Travis makes it very clear how he feels about her, but Abby, well she is either very, VERY stupid or a complete bitch.

The entire story is told from Abby’s point of view, but even so it’s very clear how Travis feels about her. Abby annoyed me, SO MUCH, she annoyed me so much I wanted to punch her. In the face. I feel like she played with Travis and Parker, ok so I didn’t care about Parker in any way, but even so the poor guy got caught up in her “I have to prove to Travis he doesn’t mean anything to me game”. Whereas poor Travis completely changed who he was and yet she STILL didn’t give him the time of day.

As for Travis, OH MY GOD!

I love Travis so much it physically hurts.

Yes he went slightly crazy at times, like the time when Abby sleeps with him as a goodbye, Travis thinks she has finally accepted how they feel and thinks its the start of something. Only when he wakes she has disappeared he is so broken he trashes his entire apartment in anger. There is also the time in a club that every guy who approaches Abby, gets dragged away and told no by Travis and the time he beats a guy to a pulp in the lunch hall just for making a comment about Abby.

He is possessive, controlling and aggressive but he is kind, sweet, caring and he REALLY loves. I loved how in love with Abby he was, he loved her so much. He completely changed who he was in order to be the man she wanted. Yet he still wasn’t enough for her. What is it about bad boys that make you weak at the knees?

I honestly know he sound like a crazy person and if he was real well you would avoid him at all costs, but he’s not real and I LOVE HIM!.

This is genuinely one of my most favourite books ever. EVER. No matter how insane Travis acted it just made me love him more. I love how protective of Abby he was and how insane she drove him. The entire will they/ won’t they made the entire story like a drug, a very highly addictive drug.

There isn’t one point that you know which way it’s going. All you know is that you will be left a wreck by the time it finishes.

Just to show you how amazing Travis is, here is a few quotes of his that made me fall even harder for him!

‘I know we’re fucked up, alright? I’m impulsive, and hot tempered, and you get under my skin like no one else. You act like you hate me one minute, and then need me the next. I never get anything right, and I don’t deserve you…but I fucking love you, Abby. I love you more than I loved anyone or anything ever. When you’re around, I don’t need booze, or money, or the fighting, or the one-night stands..’

‘You know why I want you? I didn’t know I was lost until you found me. I didn’t know what alone was until the first night I spent without you in my bed. You’re the one thing I’ve got right. You’re what I’ve been waiting for, Pigeon.’

-‘It’s over. Go home.
-You’re my home.’

This one is THE ONE, it killed me…

‘To douchebags!” he said, gesturing to Brad. “And to girls that break your heart,” he bowed his head to me. His eyes lost focus. “And to the absolute fucking horror of losing your best friend because you were stupid enough to fall in love with her.’

Beautiful Disaster is utterly compelling and brimming with emotion that pours from its pages consuming you and leaving you a crying wreck upon the floor in a foetal position.

Britney Spears: The uncontrollable sobbing mess cry baby

This is an absolute MUST READ, its just brilliant, utterly brilliant.

You can get Beautiful Disaster in Paperback and Kindle.

I practically FORCED my darling friend Kirsty to read this book so please do check out her review here!

One thought on “Beautiful Disaster by Jamie McGuire

Leave a Reply

