2014 Book Reviews · Blog Tours

Surrounded By Water by Stephanie Butland

20140421-044806 PM.jpg

For readers of Liane Moriarty and JoJo Moyes, Surrounded by Water is a powerful début novel about loss and love and learning that life will move on whether you want it to or not.

‘Elizabeth’s world is turned upside down when her husband dies in a tragic drowning accident.

How typical of her kind, generous husband to sacrifice his own life saving a complete stranger’s. At the heart of this village that has lost its most respected police officer is a woman who has lost life as she knows it.

Or so she thinks. But this is a small place where everyone knows each other and nothing stays secret for long.

Before Elizabeth can begin trying to piece her heart back together, it might just need to be broken again…’

So excited to be a part of the blog tour for Surrounded By Water, today i will be sharing a review with you AND a chance for you to win your very own SIGNED COPY!

Here is where you can follow the rest of the tour:

20140421-045615 PM.jpg

One night changes Elizabeth’s life forever…

Her husband Mike dies heroically saving the life of a young girl, who finds herself in trouble in the local lake, where Mike happened to be walking their pet dog.

Elizabeth’s grief worries everyone, it seems she has given up trying to live. Mike promised to never leave her and Elizabeth can’t cope with the fact he has left her, it doesn’t help that nobody really knows what happened the night he died.

The story is told in the present with flashbacks to the past and with letters that Elizabeth writes to her dead husband. I loved this, I found it made me absorb the story quicker, I was constantly wanting to find out more from the past or see what Elizabeth tells Mike next.

As the story progressed we soon learn that Mike had some secrets, and Elizabeth discovers her marriage wasn’t quite as perfect as she may have thought.

This is one of those books where once you start it you have to finish it, you have to know what Mike was hiding. At times I found Elizabeth’s grief very hard going, she had literally given up and was just so terribly sad. Which at times made me groan a little, I just wanted her to at least try and cheer up. I know her husband had just died but she wasn’t even attempting to cope with it. Mel, her sister, was a superb character and I liked her best. Mel was strong and didn’t take no crap from anybody. I always admire that in a character. I found myself not liking Mike at all towards the end of the book.

I can’t talk about the end of the book because I refuse to give spoilers, but I will say this, when I first finished it I was really annoyed at Elizabeth, I then thought about how I would act/feel if it was me and decided no, I’m wrong.

Stephanie writes in a way that has you feeling every emotion Elizabeth is feeling, you feel the enormity of her loss and grieve along side her.

This is a wonderfully written book about coming to terms with loss and betrayal, and brilliantly compelling from the first page to the last.

I found myself caught up within the story and desperately trying to read as fast as I could to discover the full story.

Surrounded By Water is available in hardback or kindle.

About The Author

Stephanie Butland is a professional trainer specialising in creativity and thinking skills. She also uses her unique skills and first-hand experience to support people with cancer. She helps to raise awareness and funds for many charities and has written two books about her life with the illness.
She lives in Northumberland with her husband and two children and is available for interview.

Surrounded by Water is her first novel.

http://www.stephaniebutland.com
@under_blue_sky

20140422-070944 AM.jpg

To WIN a signed copy of Surrounded By Water just tell me why you would like to read it. I will announce the winner at 8pm tonight (22/04/14). Good Luck!

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “Surrounded By Water by Stephanie Butland

  1. I lived to read sound very good i never read any off your book so it bit great to read and review a new author on page face book review page Aj book review club

  2. I would love to read it because I’ve heard so many good things and it sounds like my cup of tea. I’d also like to review it for my blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s