Book News

Afterburn & Aftershock by Sylvia Day

20140324-053538 PM.jpg

‘Never mix business with pleasure.
Never bring politics into the bedroom.

In a way I did both when I took Jackson Rutledge as a lover.

I can’t say I wasn’t warned.

The realisation that Jax still affected me so strongly was a tough pill to swallow.

He’d been part of my life for only five short weeks two years ago. But now he was back. Walking into a deal I’d worked hard to close. And, God, he was magnificent.

In that moment I understood how badly I wanted to unravel the mystery of Jax.

Badly enough that I didn’t mind how close it was going to cost me.’

I would firstly like to thank the lovely Cara for sending me a copy Of Afterburn to review. Now some of you may already know, I’m a huge Sylvia Day fan. So when Cara asked me about Afterburn, she got a very excited email back!

Afterburn (& Aftershock) is about Gia.

Gia has worked hard to get her position with the unstoppable Lei Yeung and she’s done her best to hide the flashy Italian girl she used to be and become a classy hard working woman. Working with Lei has been the making of her. But just as Gia is about to sign the biggest deal of her career in walks Jackson…

Jackson is her competition and business is about to get personal.

Gia hasn’t seen Jax or heard from him in two years and suddenly his back and he has his sights set on getting Gia back in his bed. Only Gia can’t go back, she fell in love then had her heart broken by him, Jax only does sex.

Jax isn’t about to give up getting want he wants but he also won’t allow Gia to be a part of his world. His hiding her away and Gia decides it time to make him realise just how in love with her he is, she is fed up of playing games…

I absolutely loved this book, it was an entire game of cat and mouse, only this time the rules have changed and its not clear who will win.

One if the best things about Sylvia’s writing is her leading ladies, and Gia is no different. She is brilliantly feisty, strong, assertive and confident. I also loved how refused to take Jax’s crap.

The thing about Sylvia’s men…. They are HOT! They are dark and brooding and even though they may seem bad they have good hearts. Something us good girls cannot resist, and Jax is all that and more. He’s dominating, possessive and commanding but will leave you needing a cold shower.

I enjoyed the threat that Jax bought to her work and her heart in the start of the book. Then when Gia finally realises he’s secretly mad about her, I loved reading about her trying to make him love her so much that he wouldn’t ever want to let her go.

This is one of those books that you will red in one go!

Short, sweet and oh so hot! Sylvia Day is an expert at steamy.

Afterburn is now available to order in paperback.

Leave a Reply

