2014 Book Reviews

The Statistical Probability Of Love At First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith

20140226-054754 AM.jpg

Who would have guessed that four minutes could change everything?

Imagine if she hadn’t fogotten the book. Or if there hadn’t been traffic on the expressway. Or if she hadn’t fumbled the coins for the toll. What if she’d run just that little bit faster and caught the flight she was supposed to be on. Would it have been something else – the weather over the atlantic or a fault with the plane?

Hadley isn’t sure if she believes in destiny or fate but, on what is potentially the worst day of each of their lives, it’s the quirks of timing and chance events that mean Hadley meets Oliver…

Set over a 24-hour-period, Hadley and Oliver’s story will make you believe that true love finds you when you’re least expecting it.

I bought this book around Christmas. The cover kept catching my eye and the story seemed so intriguing that I just couldn’t resist.

This is story is told entirely from Hadley’s point of view, something I always like in a book.

Hadley is at the airport awaiting a plane to take her to London, to see her dad getting re-married. Hadley doesn’t want to go and is pressured into going by her mum.

At the airport she meets Oliver, they end up sitting together on the plane. They connect and all too soon they arrive at London and have to part…

I wanted to love this so much. The whole concept of the book is brilliant and the way the story is told is brilliant. I loved it being all from Hadley’s point of view. I also love when stories give snippets of past events.

Unfortunately I was really disappointed, I found the book quite dull and was desperate to finish just so I could start another book. I didn’t really feel the connection that they were supposed to have.

Maybe it’s my age, I think this sort of book would be perfect for my 14year old sister though.

You can buy it in paperback or on your kindle.

Leave a Reply

