2014 Book Reviews

The Love Detective by Alexandra Potter

20140113-103457 AM.jpg

“People always ask me what kind of books I write and I guess you’d call them love stories, but I also think of them as mysteries. After all, what makes two people fall in love? I’ve written three novels on the topic and I’m still looking for the answers.

In a way, I’m a bit of a love detective. Because what’s a greater mystery than love?”

Ruby Miller has lost her faith in love. In an effort to forget her cheating ex and clear her writer’s block, she joins her sister for a week’s holiday in India… and embarks on an extraordinary adventure.

Swept up on a magical mystery tour, amid silks and spices, palaces and weddings, Ruby investigates different stories of love lost and found.

But will a romance of her own remain always out of reach? Or can she find her happy ever after?

Firstly I would like to thank Emma at Hodder for sending me The Love Detective to review, I really appreciate it.

This story was all about Ruby, after having her heart broken and suffering with writers block, she takes the advice of her agent and takes a break. She heads off to India to see her little sister who is travelling and currently in India.

India is quite terrifying at first, loud, fast paced, people everywhere and cows have freedom to roam wherever they choose. Ruby worries about how she will cope as she is thrown around in the back of a rickshaw, but soon calms down when she sees the hotel/paradise that she is staying in.

After a relaxing week it’s soon time to come home along with her sister who is also returning home. Only when Ruby gets to the airport and Amy is nowhere to be seen, she starts to panic. When she finally reaches Amy on the phone, Amy declares she isn’t coming home, she is running off to marry her yoga instructor.

That’s when Amy makes a snap decision, she can’t let Amy run off and get married. Ruby doesn’t believe in love and will not let Amy get her heart broken. So sets off in pursuit of Amy and plans to stop the wedding.

Only Amy and the Yoga instructor are no longer at the hotel, and India is in wedding season, with hundreds of weddings taking place this weekend. It’s here where Ruby’s adventures really begin….

I really, really enjoyed this book. Ruby was a brilliant heroine to tell us her story. Her one-liners had me laughing out loud. I really enjoyed how she progressed as a character and I enjoyed her relationship with Jack. I loved they both quite disliked each other, but we knew he would become her love interest, so that would keep me turning pages, waiting for them to realise that they actually had feelings for each other.

I love how beautifully Alexandra would describe India, she had the ability to make it come to life around you and would make you forget you was sitting on a sofa, with a blanket in the middle of winter.

This book was witty, fast paced, atmospheric and beautifully written. It will make you want to travel and have adventures of your own.

I’m excited to know this will become a series of books and I will be waiting with anticipation for the next instalment.

The Love Detective is available January 16th and you can pre-order your copy here.

5 thoughts on “The Love Detective by Alexandra Potter

  1. I’m so looking forward to reading this one! I was away from twitter for some time and when I got back I saw the release of this book was postponed for 16th..never found out why. But anyway, great review V, I’m glad you enjoyed it so much. Now I really can’t wait to read it! xx

Leave a Reply

