2014 Book Reviews

The Girl Behind The Curtain by Stella Knightley

20140101-104409 PM.jpg

1930s Berlin: a never-ending whirlwind of the theatrically, decadence, sex and uninhibited pleasures…

Sarah Thomson and Marco Donato’s complicated love affair continues – their passion is a deep one but both have been badly hurt before and are wary of exposing their vulnerabilities to each other.

Meanwhile, Sarah begins to research a new subject…

In 1930s Germany, Katherine Hazleton escapes her stuffy finishing school and runs away to Berlin in pursuit of an unsuitable man. Alone and penniless when her boyfriend deserts her, she is forced to become a hostess at a cabaret bar.

There she reinvents herself as Kitty Katkin. Writing her own songs to accompany her risqué dance routines, Kitty is soon a sensation. She is in love with Berlin and her handsome musician lover, Otto. But Germany is about to change.

Will Kitty and Sarah find the love they truly deserve.”

I would again like to thank Emilie at Hodder for sending this book to review along with the first two. I really appreciate it.

As you all know by now, I am having a full on love affair with these books! I will never be able to do them the justice they truly deserve. This trilogy is simply breathtaking and a truly incredible love story that has stolen my heart.

This is the third in the series I have reviewed both The Girl BehindThe Mask here and The Girl Behind The Fan here.

In this story it’s slightly different as we get to see Marco’s side to the story too. I loved this because so far he has been very elusive. It was so exciting to find out how he was feeling about Sarah.

Sarah’s research this time was AMAZING. The story we learn of is all about Kitty and Otto. It’s Sarah’s elderly landlord in Germany who gives to her the diary’s of Kitty.

Kitty is sent to a finishing school in Germany for being caught in a compromising position with a local boy. While at her new school she meets another boy who she soon falls madly in love with, only when she runs off to be with him it turns out he is already engaged to someone else. Alone in Berlin she finds herself land in some awful situations, but manages to find herself a job waitressing at the local club. This is where she meets Otto, they fall madly in love and Otto is a true gentleman. I fell in love with him myself.

The twist in Kitty’s story literally blew my mind. I thought I had figured it out, I hadn’t at all.

I’m not going to tell you any more of either girls story, because they are so beautifully written and so completely and utterly romantic you just need to read them.

The story of Sarah and Marco is a modern day version of Beauty and the Beast.

The entire series has captivated and intrigued me throughout, each book is as addictive as the last and they are just utterly compelling and so, so SO romantic.

This is without a doubt my absolute favourite series of books I’ve ever read. I just adore them. They are so good.

They are absolutely addictive, unputdownable and I’m so sad that this is the last book. I’m going into mourning.

For a kindle version of The Girl Behind The Curtain click here and for a paperback version click here.

I cannot recommend this entire series enough. You absolutely HAVE TO READ THESE.

Leave a Reply

