2013 Book Reviews

The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

This review is part of the Penguin Blog Tour, so I would like to thank Katie for allowing me to take part.

20131112-061406 PM.jpg

‘Mother of three and wife of John-Paul, Cecilia discovers an old envelope in the attic. Written in her husband’s hand. It says: to be opened only in the event of my death.

Curious, she opens it – and time stops.

John-Paul’s letter confesses to a terrible mistake which, if revealed, would wreck their family as well as the lives of others.

Cecilia wants to the right thing, but right for who? If she protects her family by staying silent, the truth will worm thorough her heart. But if she reveals her husbands secret, she will hurt those she loves most…’

Where to start, immediately after reading this I was annoyed that I managed to guess the plot. That’s something I tend to really dislike in a book, I like to be surprised or floored with a plot. But then after sitting with it for a few hours I got thinking this book wasn’t about being completely shocked or surprised. It’s bigger than that, it’s about the chain reaction of one person’s actions and the consequences that then follow.

So this story is split up into three which follows three different woman. I want to tell you a bit about each story and character but the review would go on so long I fear I would bore you.

I did enjoy how each chapter would jump to a different story which is always that good frustrating, you know, where you want to read faster to get to the next part of the last story.

However I was left frustrated, I don’t know wether it’s because all the hype and talk of the book that it maybe left me with higher expectations.

The book was really well written and it slowly built up to an explosive ending. If I hadn’t of guessed where it was going I know I would of been blown away.

I think this book for the right person will be really gripping and compelling and a book that will be impossible to put down. I absolutely recommend it.

It’s very interesting to read and I believe it will have you racing through the pages.

Unfortunately it wasn’t the right book for me. But I can certainly appreciate it.

You can get a copy in Paperback and Kindle

But that’s not all, I also have exclusive content from Liane Moriarty:

Themes
I deliberately chose a Catholic community as a backdrop for the story because the notions of guilt and redemption are so fundamental to Catholicism. Although none of my characters are particularly religious, it adds an extra layer of complexity to what they are all going through.

Another theme that runs through THE HUSBAND’S SECRET is “what if?” It’s about all the secrets we never know about our own lives. No matter how ordinary a life you lead, there are so many different paths you could have taken, so many decisions you might have made differently if you’d only known everything you didn’t know. It’s kind of amazing when you think about it.

2 thoughts on “The Husband’s Secret by Liane Moriarty

Leave a Reply

