Author Interviews

Question Time with Author Elizabeth Moss

Today I’m really excited to share with you an interview I did with Elizabeth Moss, author of one of my favourite books of the year Wolf Bride.

You can find my review here:

https://victorialovesbooks.wordpress.com/?s=Wolf&submit=Search

20131107-072827 AM.jpg

About Elizabeth:

From her earliest years, Elizabeth Moss knew she wanted to be a writer. Now she writes historical romance with a hot, sexy twist. Elizabeth was born into a literary family in Essex, and currently lives in the South-West of England with her husband and young family. She also writes commercial fiction under another name.

The interview:

1. Most important things first, did you have to do LOTS of research into Lord Wolf’s Codpiece? Because I googled it and wasted at least half a day!

I did, yes. There was measuring involved. And some in-depth enquiry into the possible materials used for a Tudor nobleman’s codpiece. Shiny black leather was the consensus … At least, I felt sure that would be an excellent choice if I were a nobleman choosing a codpiece.

2. One thing I adored about Wolf Bride, was the fact both Eloise and Lord Wolf, really loved each other yet were scared of not being loved back. They misunderstood each other which made you desperately turn the pages in the hope they realised soon. What was your favourite part of the book?

Hard to reply in much detail without writing a spoiler, but just before Anne Boleyn’s execution – no spoiler there, hopefully! – their relationship begins to change profoundly. That’s probably my favourite part. There’s also a marvellous scene involving an ancient cave drawing which I very much enjoyed writing, as it pushes beyond the usual scenarios you commonly find in erotic romance novels.

3. How much research did you have to do regarding the book?

Not a huge amount, as I’ve been writing Tudor fiction under another name for a couple of years now. I needed to check details of Anne Boleyn’s fall from grace, of course – her deteriorating relationship with Henry, her accusers, her trial, and her execution. But apart from the aforementioned codpiece investigations, the research was mostly quite straightforward and was done ‘on the hoof’, i.e. while actually writing the novel, to check dates and names as required.

4. I really enjoyed reading about King Henry in the book and it left me wanting to read more on him, will we see more of him in the next book?

Absolutely. I have a love-hate relationship with Henry VIII (as did his wives, I imagine). He’s such an iconic figure, you can’t ignore him as a writer. He dominates a scene just by entering it, whether you intended that or not. But as a twenty-first century woman, I have to admit to loathing him as a dyed-in-the-wool womaniser and misogynist. We see more of that loathing come out in REBEL BRIDE, where it was rather muted in WOLF BRIDE, if only because Wolf is one of the narrators and his loyalty to the crown is absolute (though he is horrified by Anne’s arrest and trial). REBEL BRIDE is an unusual sequel, for although it follows the love attraction of a different couple – Hugh and Susannah – the first half of the book overlaps in time with WOLF BRIDE. So we see part of Anne Boleyn’s disgrace again – and indeed Wolf and Eloise falling in love – but from two strikingly different perspectives.

5. Was there much you edited out of the book, if so what?

I can’t recall losing anything, off the top of my head. I tend to write books straight through, trying to achieve final draft quality as I go, and that seems a successful policy so far. I think the first few chapters got the most changes – which is often the case – but it was adding rather than subtracting!

6. I always like when the heroines of books are feisty and stand their ground, are there any of your own traits in Eloise?

All my heroines are me. That may be why people always complain how headstrong and impulsive they are. But like all good heroines, I’m gradually learning to sit on my hands and not react to everything. I would love to be stoical, and write a stoical heroine. But alas, it will probably never happen. They say people are like their pets. I have a friendly but utterly crazed Irish Red Setter who can’t sit still for a moment and constantly chases her own tail, or leaps up at people with wild over-enthusiasm. That’s me. I’m not sure if that’s Eloise though. She’s headstrong, but not crazed. Thankfully. Crazed heroines are very hard to pull off in an erotic romance.

7. You left the book at an absolute cliff hanger regarding Eloise’s younger sister, running off because she doesn’t want to marry. Which brings us onto Book 2, what can you tell us about Rebel Bride?

REBEL BRIDE is like one of these chase movies where one person’s running away – in this case Susannah, running away from an arranged marriage – and someone’s on her trail – Hugh, of course, Wolf’s trusted friend and courtier. So it’s a very active book, quite adventurous in tone, and so is Susannah’s attraction to Hugh. Susannah is a real firebrand, far wilder than her sister, and Hugh of course has already confided in Wolf that he’s looking for a very docile bride, someone who won’t talk back and will be content to stay at home with the kids while he’s at court. So his desire for Susannah knocks him sideways, and then he finds himself warring with her, and almost enjoying it. And she’s so dismissive of everything he has always believed in – the code of honour, how men should treat women – that he has to totally reevaluate his attitudes in order to deal with her. So in a way REBEL BRIDE is about adjusting your expectations of love, sex and marriage – and learning to connect with people at a much deeper level, not just physically.

8. When you’re not writing, what are you reading and what’s your favourite book?

My favourite book is THE CRYSTAL CAVE by Mary Stewart. I cannot praise MS enough as a writer, she has influenced me greatly over the years, and her Merlin novels are superb. Required reading if you like fantasy! What do I read? Too many things to note, my tastes are very wide. Right now I’m re-reading Mary Balogh’s SLIGHTLY DANGEROUS.

9. Can you describe your book in 3 words?

Love is surprising.

10. And lastly, if you had to cast people for Wolf and Eloise, who would you chose?

Argh, this is such an impossible question! I can’t answer it, not least because I fear it would completely misrepresent the characters, whoever I chose. Perhaps it might be more fun for YOU to suggest someone. But thanks for interviewing me, Victoria, it’s been fantastic!

20131107-073120 AM.jpg

Wolf Bride is available in paperback TODAY! An absolute must read.

Wolf Bride (Lust in the Tudor Court). Paperback version:
http://amazon.co.uk/dp/1444752421

Wolf Bride (Lust in the Tudor court – Book One). Kindle Version:
http://amazon.co.uk/dp/B00CIVLT2W

Thank you so much Elizabeth for taking the time to answer my questions, I really appreciate it.

If you want to find out more from Elizabeth be sure to checkout her website:

http://www.elizabethmossfiction.com/p/about-elizabeth.html?m=1

Leave a Reply

