2013 Book Reviews

Ruin by Rachel Van Dyken

20131105-053719 AM.jpg

‘I’m not your typical girl. I’ve been running away from the memories that haunt me for so long that depression has become my only comfort. I was content in the darkness…until Wes Michals offered to be my light.

I didn’t know that time wasn’t my ally — that every second that ticked past was one step closer to the end of something that was beginning to mean the end of myself. He tried to warn me. He promised me all he was able to offer–each moment as it came–but it would never be enough.

Sometimes when you think it’s the end, it’s only the beginning. Wes thought he could save me, but in giving me everything, he ruined me. Because after one kiss, one touch, I couldn’t–I wouldn’t ever be the same.

And from that moment on, his heartbeat became my own.’

I was recommended this by a friend, who pestered and pestered me until I had no choice, but get on and read it.

It took me a day to read because I was so caught up in it. I found it impossible to put down and I absolutely loved it, well until the end. (More on that later)

I’m going to be vague about the plot because I can’t really talk too much about it without spoiling the direction of the book.

The story was split into two points of view, Keirsten’s and Wes’. I liked this, as it gave us an insight into both characters point of view.

Keirsten, after suffering the loss of her parents, she is now on anti-depressants and living life so cautiously, she isn’t really living at all.
Coming from a small town she has never dated boys let alone kissed them, so when she runs smack, into a 8-pack for a chest, she loses the ability to think straight.

The 8-pack, is actually known as Wes and his an absolute player and comes across as a cocky nightmare (queue me salivating) who will eat her for breakfast. Wes is well known, his dad is a billionaire and Wes goes everywhere with an entourage.

Wes is completely blown away by Keirsten, his rule is to never go near Freshman, but he is so drawn to her his prepared to break all his rules. Keirsten is also absolutely crazy about Wes.

They soon become friends and Wes starts to teach Keirsten how to let go of the past and start to live in the now. She writes a list of things she wants to accomplish and Wes promises to help.

But they cannot stay friends, they are both falling hard, but Wes cannot commit because he is hiding something.

And that is all I can say.

Other than Wes and Keirsten we had her two roommates. Lisa and Gabe. Lisa was slightly demented and a slut in my eyes and Gabe was like a big brother, over protective of Keirsten and he adored her.

Now, part of this book made me sob so hard that I had to put the book down and calm myself before I carried on. This wasn’t your typical romance book with a love triangle. And the way it ended had me feeling slightly disappointed, I think had it ended a different way, I would be saying this book was epic. Unfortunately I think the author played it a touch safe.

BUT saying that I did enjoy it and it provoked emotions from me that I haven’t had from a book for a while.

It was addictive and crushed my heart.

Here is the link for ebook your copy:

http://amazon.co.uk/dp/B00EH3EIFO

And your paperback copy:

http://amazon.co.uk/dp/1492121169

Leave a Reply

