2013 Book Reviews · Favourite Books

Yours Truly by Kirsty Greenwood

20131021-062550 AM.jpg

‘Your bum does not look big in that dress.

Mmm, it tastes delicious!

Of course you’re better looking than Jon Hamm.

Newly engaged Natalie Butterworth is an easy-going girl. She’ll do anything for a quiet life and if telling a few teensy white lies keeps her friends and family happy, then so what? It’s not like they’ll ever discover what she’s really thinking….’

I don’t even know where to begin, I don’t know if I am capable of describing just how much I love this book.

At Christmas (2012) I was bought a kindle by Mr Stone, I had refused profusely that I had no need to ever own one. I was a proper book kind of girl. Anyway after setting it all up and playing around with it, I started to scroll through the thousands of books available at the tap of a button. I was being really picky because I didn’t really want to use it.

I put it down and then didn’t pick it back up for a few months, much to the disgust of Mr Stone. Nothing had caught my eye and if something did I could get it on paperback. Feeling guilty I hadn’t yet used my gift I decided I was going to find a book if it killed me, even if it meant sacrificing a paperback. It was then that I first noticed Yours Truly, the cover just popped out and me. Then reading the synopsis I knew that I’d found a book I HAD to read.

I planned to buy it then read it that night, but first I had to do the obligatory “read a few pages”, that few pages turned into the rest of the day. I didn’t move once. I sat and read Yours Truly in one sitting.

I fell head over heels in love with this book then hunted Kirsty down on twitter and pretty much stalked her and told her quite openly I love her. (Thankfully she hasn’t yet called for back up!).

So now onto the actual story rather than my stalking tendencies towards the author. (Who I LOVE, did I mention that?).

So this story is all about Natalie, and from the absolute off we see that Natalie would rather suffer in silence than tell the truth, or offend someone. You see, she has just had the haircut from hell, and rather than refusing to pay for the monstrosity she pays, AND tips the hairdresser. So straightaway we get a feeling of Natalie and what we are in for.

Natalie’s best friend is Meg, who I instantly liked, she laughs when she hears Natalie’s hair related disaster then tells her to march back and demand it gets fixed. Instantly we know she is no-nonsense. We also hear she is dragging Natalie to the pub to see a hypnotist, something Meg has been wanting to do since she read about someone being hypnotised into believing she had a gastric band. Natalie is skeptical about the whole thing.

Natalie was on a catering course which she gave up to move back home with her mum, when her mum suffered a breakdown after her dad left. She is soon to marry Olly, then move into a flat down the road, so she is never to far away. The flat also happens to be right next door to her sister.

Olly, her fiancé is the polar opposite of Natalie. His a sport fanatic and gets up at 6am every morning just to go to the gym. He also likes everything clean and tidy. He comes across as flash.

To say her family are overbearing would be an understatement, they buy her wedding dress without even consulting her. But when she tries to explain nicely that she’s not keen, well she is told in no uncertain terms that she will be wearing it. Of course Natalie agrees.

When Natalie and Meg see the hypnotist in the pub, it’s quite clear he is an absolute fake. But the next day when Olly asks his obligatory “how was it?” question after sex, Natalie blurts out the truth, much to Olly’s horror.

It seems Natalie is only capable of telling the absolute truth, which is leaving lots of people around her upset and angry with her revelations. This leads to Meg and Natalie taking a trip to find Brian the Hypnotist and getting him to put Natalie back to normal.

When they get to Brian’s home and realise he isn’t about they head to the pub, where Natalie meets Riley, who owns the pub. (And happens to be quite the hunk). Meg and Natalie become stranded in the village due to the weather, and we are left to wonder wether Natalie will ever find Brian? And will Natalie realise its time to stop keeping things bottled up and maybe learn to start being more honest with herself?

It’s brilliantly written and the characters are easy to love. Natalie is a fantastic character and I always enjoy a narrative told from the main characters point of view. All Natalie ever wants to do is please everybody, so when faced with the dilemma of only being able to be honest, you can’t help but be embarrassed for her. But you are also secretly pleased, because she is so easily walked over its nice to see her putting people in their place. (Something I think everyone has wanted to do, one time or another).

I ADORED Riley, he was easy going, fun, unassuming and kind. He grabbed my heart and I fell in love with him. I was also a HUGE fan of Meg, she instantly reminded me of Sarah Parish in The Wedding Date, (although she doesn’t turn out to be a bitch). She was brilliant fun and honest.

To say I loved this book is an absolute understatement. Since Christmas I’ve read this book 5/6 times, that’s how much I love this book. It’s one of the funniest I’ve ever read.

This is one of those books that is truly addictive, from the very first sentence you are hooked in and crying with laughter. If you pick this up be prepared to not move until it’s finished, it’s one of those types of books.

This is Kirsty’s debut and I predict massive things for Kirsty. I suspect she will be a huge author who’s books will be eagerly anticipated by fans. (Especially by me!).

Brilliantly funny, addictive, entertaining, well written and utterly heart warming. An absolutely outstanding book.

An absolute must buy!

Here is the link for the paperback which you can pre-order:

http://amazon.co.uk/dp/1447247272

Yours Truly is available November 21st.

4 thoughts on “Yours Truly by Kirsty Greenwood

Leave a Reply

