2013 Book Reviews

Connectivity by Aven Ellis

20131004-081244 AM.jpg

‘Overachiever Mary-Kate Grant (who is indeed named after an Olsen Twin) has followed every rule to the letter to pursue her dream of working in TV programming. Ripping a page from the “hard work pays off” playbook, she takes an assistant level job at a Chicago sports network to break into the industry.

MK has no time or desire for a relationship right now—she is totally focused on her career and being independent, unlike the other women in her family.

But MK’s plans are run through the shredder when she finds herself working for William Cumberland, a British media mogul who made his fortune with Connectivity, a social media site. William blows into Chicago just like the winds off Lake Michigan and purchases the group of networks MK works for—and makes her his personal assistant in the process.

Suddenly MK finds her career plans in jeopardy. William makes her question everything she has ever thought and has the uncanny ability to see right through her. And for the first time in her life, MK finds herself not only questioning what she wants for her career but for her personal life as well…’

Firstly I would like to thank Aven For allowing me to review her debut book. It’s one I’ve really been looking forward to getting stuck into. Connectivity is one of those books that clearly states “this is me, you will enjoy me and you will fall in love with William and you will be sad to finish me”. I did all of those things!

I hold my hands up and confess I have yet ANOTHER book boyfriend, yes I know there are many now, but oh, William is so dreamy.

MK is a hard working career orientated girl who won’t allow something like love to get in her way. She has an insanely mental sister and friends who I found quite bossy and interfering. MK is clumsy, cheeky, passionate and has a terrible potty mouth. But that just made me love her more.

Working in a job she doesn’t really want to be doing (assistant to a manager for Total Access Total Sports), MK does it anyway hoping it will help her towards her preferred career, working at Beautiful Homes Network. She has a huge passion in fashion and home decorating and put this all on a blog she writes.

MK meets William Cumberland (let me compose myself) whilst having some trouble with a copy machine. He of course rescues her.

After a tricky start to their working relationship, with William teasing her and MK mainly very annoyed at him, it soon becomes clear their banter is getting more and more flirtatious. Sending his own assistant home, William makes MK his assistant for his remaining time in America.

This results in more flirting, lots of banter and a date on Valentines Day, William is soon whisking her off to London in order to be his assistant there too. Their relationship becomes even more intense and MK is falling in love hard. Knowing it can never last. William is her boss for one, he won’t be staying in America and They both aren’t looking for love. They are both career driven, but is it too late for MK to stop her heart from being broken?

I ADORED this book, the banter between the two of them had me giggling away and turning page after page. I completely fell in love with William because he was a good, genuine man with a good heart and boy was he romantic, I melted a good few times.

There was none of your usual love triangles in this and it made a very welcome change. There was a good few jaw dropping moments for me and it had me squealing with delight also.

The story is told from MK’s point of view, which is something I always enjoy. Even so I think it was always pretty clear how William felt, he was a open and honest character.

Well written, witty, charming, romantic and easy to get carried away with. Aven Ellis has a big fan in me and I cannot wait to read more from her.

The link for the book is here:

http://amazon.co.uk/dp/B00FXCXGGA

8 thoughts on “Connectivity by Aven Ellis

Leave a Reply

