2013 Book Reviews

The Sentinel by Holly Martin

20131007-115522 AM.jpg

‘When Eve is rescued from a horrific coach crash by her teachers, she is shocked to discover they possess super strength and speed. But what happens next is even more harrowing.
In the aftermath of the crash she discovers that everyone in her life from neighbours, doctors, dentists, teachers, shop keepers and even her family and friends are actually super strength Guardians sent to protect her. They all have one thing in common, a single minded ferocity that she must be kept alive at all costs.
However, she is surrounded by secrets and lies. Those in the know deny all knowledge of what happened that fateful night. Everyone else carries on as normal, seemingly unaware of the new strange world that she has stumbled against.
With the help of Seth, her best friend, Eve discovers the prophecies surrounding her true identity and the super strength she too holds. With her Guardians pledged to protect her, her closest friends ready to die for her, her own hopes and dreams are put on hold whilst she battles to control the amazing powers she has been bestowed with.
But those that seek to destroy her move ever closer. Will the Guardians be enough to protect her when so many are prepared to stop at nothing to see her dead? And will she be strong enough to fulfil her destiny when the time comes?
A fast paced fantasy adventure for young adults.
With high speed car chases, airborne fights, amazing stunts and super powered beings, this is a story of loyalty, friendship and love.’

Firstly I would like to thank Holly for sending me an ARC for me to read and review.

If you follow my reviews you will know that the YA/Fantasy genre is very new to me. But both genres are ones I’m falling in love with. YA for its ease and Fantasy for the fact there are no boundaries. So when I heard that this was Holly’s genre for her book, I jumped at the opportunity of reading it. Plus there is always that unknown when reading a debut. The first book of an author can start a love affair that will have you banging on shop doors at sunrise just to get the latest release, and after reading this I think I’ve fallen in love!

This story is all about Eve, who unbeknown to her is very VERY important. Whilst on a school trip, the coach she is on crashes and hangs from a cliff. Eve is saved by her teachers, one of whom just happens to be stopping the coach from crashing and killing everyone inside, by holding the bumper. When Eve is safe her teachers lets go of the coach, and Eve instinctively grabs hold of the bumper. Somehow Eve is also keeping it from crashing down the cliff.

It soon transpires that Eve is being protected by Guardians who have vowed to keep her protected at the cost of their own lives, should that happen. These Guardians are people who have been in her life a long time, teachers, friends, neighbours. Even her absolute best friend in the entire world Seth, is involved. EVEN…… (No… No I can’t tell you, but I did shout WHAT?! Very loudly).

Her Guardians are very reluctant at first to let her in on who and what Eve is and so Seth takes it upon himself to explain to her all about who she is. Eve was made and designed to save the world, the people she classed as family, aren’t her real family and her “friends” were made to be her friends to keep her safe, including Seth.

Eve has to come to terms with all of this, plus learn to use her powers. Some of which are pretty amazing, for instance she can pull her guardians to her wherever they are, or slide to them or any destination she wants at will. She can talk to them in their minds, the list is quite extraordinary.

Eve has to put her own life on hold and has the weight of the world on her shoulders, quite literally. With the guardians vowing to die in order to protect her, Eve feels under even more pressure not to let anyone die for her.

I cannot talk anymore about this book because I will keep going and going until i give it all away. It’s a book you HAVE to read, because it’s incredible. So instead I will now talk about the characters.

Eve, what can I say, I adored her. She was heroic, feisty and no matter what was threw at her she took it on ready to fight for what she loved. Ok, so she did throw some tantrums and put herself in danger, but who wouldn’t? She just found out she has to save the world, and her guardians have pledged to protect her with their lives.

Seth, (sigh) who also vowed to protect Eve, is actually crazy in love with her. Their connection was beyond adorable and had me sighing and oohing so much. When Eve finds out Seth will die saving her she orders him away and tell him never to return. Seth must obey because his taken the pledge. (My heart actually broke when he reacts).

Eli, he was the head of the guardians. He was so strict and uptight, but I still warmed to him because he only wanted Eve alive, so was very thorough with his “Job”.

Lucas was one of my favourite characters, because although guardians have no feelings, his connection to Eve was incredibly strong. So her feelings really rubbed off in him and he was quite playful and caring and compassionate.

This book was one of those that once you started it was impossible to come away from. It was fast paced, exciting, full of suspense and action that had me gasping in shock at twists I never imagined could happen. It’s a story of courage and adventure. And no matter how dark it gets, there’s always love and hope.

There is so much I haven’t spoken about that I could, but I just won’t give away the story. I LOVE this story, knowing there is more to come, I feel like when Seth was sent away, I’m distraught I have to wait and I want it NOW!

An Outstanding book that has left me bereft its finished. I wished I’d savoured it for longer.

Here is the link for the book:

http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/aw/d/B00FPYSYDG/ref=mp_s_a_1_1?qid=1381872041&sr=8-1&pi=AC_SX110_SY165_QL70

2 thoughts on “The Sentinel by Holly Martin

Leave a Reply

