My Deserted Island Feature

My Deserted Island Feature by Lauren Howard

Here for you today is Lauren and she is stranded in my island, with the help of 5 fictional characters, she should be able to survive.

20130925-075917 AM.jpg

When I first read Victoria’s idea for her September feature, I thought to myself that it was going to be so easy. Let me tell you, it wasn’t! Choosing five book characters who you’d like to be stuck with you on a deserted island is such a difficult challenge.

It took me days to think of who I believe would benefit me most. At first, I wanted my top five book boyfriends, but survival is the objective here, not setting up a sexy polygamous tribe. So, I finally managed to pick out five that I’m really happy with. So, here are my five book characters that I would want to be stranded on a deserted island with:

5. Katniss Everdeen from The Hunger Games series by Suzanne Collins

If I was stranded on a desert island, Katniss and her skills at hunting would definitely come in handy, especially if she had her bow and arrows. Due to her life history, Katniss has a primal survival instinct and I think that could be very inspiring and motivational. She could teach the rest of us how to hunt and so we’d never go hungry.!

20130925-080032 AM.jpg

4. Hermione Granger from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

With her wealth of knowledge, both from her muggle background and her magic background, I think Hermione would be able to answer any questions we may have about the island upon which we’re stranded. For example, she’d probably know exactly what different plants were and whether certain things were poisonous and to be avoided. I’d love having a fellow nerd to be able to talk to about geeky stuff and someone who would undoubtedly provide books to read.

20130925-080101 AM.jpg

3. Trace Baker from These Things About Us by Laura Beege

Being a lover of music, I wanted someone on the island who would be able to sing to me. There were a few candidates, but I absolutely had to choose Trace – what with his piercings and tattoos, and that softer, caring side of his. I would hate to be stranded anywhere without music, so to be able to have live vocals from the darkened mind of a rocker, with a “perfectly imperfect” voice described as “throaty […] like a mix of syrup and nails” would be incredible.

20130925-080137 AM.jpg

2. Caden from Anathema by K.A. Tucker

Caden is a vampire. And I’m a sucker for a sexy vampire. But the reason I’m choosing him to be on the deserted island with me is for his ability to create Werebeasts. Vampires like Caden can bite other creatures and essentially turn them into their pets. They can even communicate with them telepathically. If we were ever under attack by any wild animals, Caden could turn them and, with him as their master, we would have an army of protection in the form of immortal, fast-healing, supersized Werebeasts.

20130925-080212 AM.jpg

1. Remington Tate from Real by Katy Evans

This dark-haired, sexy, blue-eyed lion isn’t only just fun to look at – what with his rippling muscles and all – but with him being a professional fighter, I think he would be a great sense of protection on the island. He’d be like my own personal bodyguard, who would appreciate the way I’m always quoting lyrics to express my feelings. For those who haven’t read Real, Remy is often referred to as a lion: “he protects me as fiercely as a lion”, “he’s like a lazy lion, bathing me with his tongue, licking and nuzzling” and I can’t forget… “he attacks me like a lion in bed.” Oh, come on, ladies, we’ve got to have some fun on this island!

20130925-080242 AM.jpg

So there we go, my five book characters I’d like to be stranded on a deserted island with! I had so much fun thinking about who would be most beneficial towards my survival, taking into consideration both physical and psychological implications of being deserted. It really was way more difficult than I’d imagined, but I think I’d have a great time with my winners. Now, where do I sign up for this to become a reality?!

– Lauren (http://readersanddreamers.tumblr.com)

Thank you so much Lauren for taking part, never mind you get me on that island!

Tomorrow on the island of doom is Karl Herring.

One thought on “My Deserted Island Feature by Lauren Howard

Leave a Reply

