2013 Book Reviews

X by Jack Croxhall

20130904-080616 AM.jpg

‘Fifteen-year-old X thinks she is going to die. Shacked up in the cellar of an old farmhouse, she starts a journal to document her last few days. Much less than a few days if the things outside manage to get in.’

Jack sent me this short story to review and I have to say it was pretty fantastic.
Jack has this was of transporting you through his writing and making you feel like you are actually within the book.

The story is actually a diary full of entries by “X” who is completely alone and would seem is fighting for survival.

Although its only a short story I really got swept up in X’s story and got quite tearful for her.

But now I’m completely frustrated as I don’t know who “X” is! Jack certainly likes to keep us guessing (yes I’m talking about the name of his second book).

A brilliant short story that I was compelled to finish and couldn’t put down.

Also can I express my love for the cover?
How utterly stunning is it.

Here is the link;

http://amazon.co.uk/dp/B00EYMXTJ4

Also Jack has allowed me share an extract with you:

‘I spend all of my daylight hours in this musty old cellar now. It’s woeful, and I bet it smelled this bad even before everything turned to crap. Great. My second sentence and I’ve already resorted to swear words. When I decided I’d start this diary (five minutes ago) I thought it would be my poetic and deeply-moving goodbye to the world. Maybe I’d write about love and loss, or maybe even the splendour of nature. Then, if anyone ever found it, at least I’d have left something to be remembered by. As well as my corpse, of course. This was a bad idea.’

Leave a Reply

