My Book Boyfriends Feature

My Book Boyfriend by Anna Bell

Today I have the very lovely Anna telling us all about her top 5, I hope you are ready ladies!

The top spot has to be reserved for Alex from Lindsey Kelk’s I Heart series. It’s strange as most of the time in the books I can take him or leave him, but as soon as he goes on stage and is doing his rock star thing I swoon. I guess it’s like real life, I’ve got a bit of a thing for men on stage… In my head Alex looks a little bit like Chris Shiflett from the Foo Fighters.

20130818-072609 AM.jpg

Alex is closely followed by Ben from Jane Green’s Jemima J. Such a lovely book and such a lovely hero. It’s been years since I read this book (at least fifteen) and I can barely remember the plot, but I do remember Ben, and I did get very upset when Jane posted on her Facebook page that she thought Jemima would now be divorced from him. I actually got to meet Jane at a book launch last year, and when I confessed my love of Ben, she pointed out the real life inspiration for him. He’s now a silver fox and every bit how I imagined him to be.

20130818-072804 AM.jpg

Sophie Kinsella’s male characters also deserve a space in my top five. I don’t know what it is about the businessmen that she creates, from Luke Brandon in the Shopaholic books to Jack Harper in Can You Keep a Secret?, and Sam Roxton in I’ve Got Your Number – in my head they’re the same character. Not necessarily a bad thing. I love the fact that they’re all powerful and quite stern on the outside, but they seem to win you (and the main character over by the end). I have no idea who I imagine when I read them, but I do know that it wasn’t Hugh Dancy (who was cast to play Luke Brandon in Confessions of a Shopaholic movie). As much as I liked Hugh, he wasn’t bristly enough!

20130818-073139 AM.jpg

Next up is Ben from Freya North’s Cat. If you haven’t read the books about the McCabe sisters (Cat, Fen and Pip) then do – you’re in for treat. Set alongside the back drop of the Tour de France there are plenty of men to ogle in this book. Amongst all the egos of the big riders, is Ben, the team doctor, and there’s something about him that you instantly fall for. Hmm, if I imagine him in real life, I thinking Joseph Fiennes. Clean cut with just a hint of ruggedness.

20130818-073635 AM.jpg

The last spot was a tough one – so many book boyfriends to chose from – Riley from Kirsty Greenwood’s Yours Truly and Ben from Mhari McFarlane’s You Had Me At Hello were close contenders, but just pipping them to the post was Ethan from Melissa Hill’s Something from Tiffany’s. What is it about heroes who are widowers and single dad’s that make you want to swoon? He’s perfect and lovable and you’re just willing him to get the happy ever after he deserves. Melissa’s books always have brilliant twists in, and this one doesn’t disappoint. In my head, if this was cast as a movie then it would be played by someone like Luke Wilson, or ironically Hugh Dancy.

20130818-074304 AM.jpg

To get in touch with Anna here is how;

http://www.annabellwrites.com
twitter – @annabell_Wrties

Thank you so much to Anna for taking part I really appreciate it. Tomorrow we have Lisa.

Leave a Reply

