My Book Boyfriends Feature

My Book Boyfriend by Jody

Today we have the lovely Jody sharing the Book Boys!

20130816-063237 AM.jpg

The lovely Victoria asked me to contribute to her blog by writing a piece about my top 5 favourite book boyfriends. Definitely an entertaining topic to write about, but really difficult as well! Over the years I’ve come across lots of gorgeous, charming, so-close-to-perfect-it-almost-hurts male characters in novels, and I think most of us know that feeling of secretly wishing these characters would be able to come out of the novel and accidentally bump into us on the street (don’t tell me I’m the only one?)! Narrowing it down to a top 5 hasn’t been an easy task, but I managed to pick 5 of my all-time favourite literary heroes. In no particular order:

• Alex Reid from Lindsey Kelk’s ‘I Heart…’ novels
Most chick lit lovers are familiar with Lindsey Kelk’s amazing ‘I Heart…’ series, which started with ‘I Heart New York’ and at the end of this year the sixth novel will be released, ‘I Heart Christmas.’ The series focuses on hilarious and loveable heroine Angela Clark, who falls in love with the lead singer of an indie band called Alex Reid. The indie rock-band musician vibe is not something I usually fall for, but Alex is a completely different story. From the first description of him in the novel I thought: Wow, and after reading on and finding out more about him and everything he does for Angela… I wouldn’t say no to an amazing boyfriend like that!

20130816-063422 AM.jpg

• Edward Cullen from Stephenie Meyers’ ‘Twilight’ novels
I suppose it’s true what they say: you either hate Twilight or you love it, and I have to admit that I’m definitely a lover. At first I was a bit sceptical about the whole vampire/werewolf thing going on, but I thought the first novel was amazing, and I’ve really enjoyed the films as well. The love between the main characters Bella Swan and Edward Cullen is so intense and it quickly becomes clear they would do anything to just be able to be together. As a hopeless romantic, I can’t help but smile and sigh when I read about Bella and Edward’s love story, which is why I definitely couldn’t leave Edward Cullen off this list.

20130816-063527 AM.jpg

• Noah from Carole Matthews’ ‘A Cottage by the Sea’
I wanted to include the last male character from a novel that caused some butterflies to fly around in my stomach, and that has to be Noah from Carole Matthews’ thoroughly enjoyable novel ‘A Cottage by the Sea.’ The book focuses on main character Grace, who goes on a holiday together with her friends and her husband to a cottage near the sea, where she meets the handsome and absolutely charming Noah. Sparks fly instantly, and who can blame Grace, because Noah is just amazing. He’s helpful, friendly, a true gentleman and incredibly good-looking (at least, he is in my head!)… The perfect chick lit leading man!

20130816-063621 AM.jpg

• Landon Carter from Nicholas Sparks’ ‘A Walk to Remember’
Nicholas Sparks is without a doubt one of my favourite authors. He has written so many amazing love stories, and most of them star a pretty fabulous leading man. If I have to pick a particular favourite, though, I’d have to go for Landon Carter from ‘A Walk to Remember.’ At the beginning of the novel, Landon is a bit of a bad boy, but when he starts to spend more time with Jamie, he starts to fall in love with her and his personality starts to change as well. I don’t want to give away what happens in the story, but I’d be surprised if you wouldn’t have tears in your eyes at the very end. It’s one of my favourite love stories, which is why I had to add Landon to this list.

20130816-063815 AM.jpg

• Fitzwilliam Darcy from Jane Austen’s ‘Pride and Prejudice’
The most romantic literary hero of all time? Of course, this has to be Mr. Darcy. I’m a big Jane Austen fan, and ‘Pride and Prejudice’ is one of my favourite novels ever. The love story between Elizabeth Bennet and Fitzwilliam Darcy is just enchanting, and I can’t read it often enough. Some might find Mr. Darcy a bit too broody, too dark, too annoying, but I find (together with lots of other true Darcy fans, undoubtedly) that if you look past that, it becomes clear that there is so much more to him than just a first impression. Besides, he has his own country estate (Pemberley), which you wouldn’t hear me complaining about!

20130816-063952 AM.jpg

So, these are my top 5 book boyfriends! I decided not to add photos of celebrities, simply because some of them have already been played by actors who portrayed the characters perfectly, if you ask me (Robert Pattison as Edward Cullen, Shane West as Landon Carter), but also because I think one of the most magical things about stories is being able to decide what the characters look like in your own mind. All these characters look a specific way in my mind, but I couldn’t pick an actor or famous person who looks just like that. My advice: leave it to your own imagination while reading, and if you enjoy the story, one of these perfect men will automatically appear! 😉

Jody

How to get in touch with Jody;

Blog: http://spoonfulofhappyendings.blogspot.com
Twitter: @happyspoonful
E-mail: spoonfulofhappyendings@gmail.com

Thank you so much to Jody for taking part. Tomorrow, oh yes there is more, is Charlotte from BestChickLit.

Leave a Reply

