2013 Book Reviews · Favourite Books

Slammed by Colleen Hoover

20130814-094022 AM.jpg

‘Layken’s father died suddenly, leaving her to gather every ounce of strength to be a pillar for her family, in order to prevent their world falling apart. Now her life is taking another unexpected turn….

Layken’s mother gets a job which leads to an unwanted move across country. However, a new home means new neighbours. . . And Layken’s new neighbour is the very attractive Will Cooper.

Will has an intriguing passion for slam poetry, and a matching passion for life. The two feel an irresistible attraction but are rocked to the core when a shocking revelation brings their romance to a screeching halt. Layken and Will must find a way to fight the forces that threaten to tear them apart. . . Or learn to live without each other.’

After seeing so many people absolutely rave about Slammed I had to buy it and add it to my pile of books. It sat there as I read others, and it kept catching my eye but I had others that needed reading first. Suffering with massive book hangover, I turned to my twitter friends for advice. I let slip this was in my pile, which then resulted in Karli shouting at me over twitter and a few others demanding I read it instantly.

So I did….

This book pulled me in, broke my heart, made me weep, then spat me out bereft that I had finished it.

Absolutely consuming and compelling from the first to the last page.

Colleen Hoover’s writing is brilliantly easy reading but she has you feeling every emotion that each character is feeling.

Like all great love stories, from the moment they lock eyes that’s it. The switch has been flipped and they need each other. They have a first date and it’s perfect, they are perfect. Will introduces Lake to Poetry Slam, boy does this make Will even more attractive. The boy writes poetry!

But then comes the curve ball, I won’t even tell you, that’s something you need to discover for yourself. I was left open mouthed and saying “no, no, no, what? NO THIS CANNOT BE!”
I did not expect it at all.

Will then tells Lake they cannot be and calls the whole thing off. This breaks her heart and it’s obviously killing Will too. Which in turn breaks a piece of heart. Watching them fight their feelings for each other knowing how much they love each other, has you racing through the pages desperate to finish and find out if they can work through it and be together.

But that isn’t the only twist another comes and will shatter your heart into pieces.

Colleen’s way with words had me in tears A LOT! She writes beautifully with an honesty and rawness that takes your breath away.

I’m now furious with myself for not reading this sooner!

I absolutely loved this book so much it’s easily gone into my top 5 favourite books. I now must go as I HAVE to find the next one.

The link for the paperback is here;

http://amazon.co.uk/dp/147112567X

And the kindle version here;

http://amazon.co.uk/dp/B008VDJFFY

One thought on “Slammed by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

