2013 Book Reviews

Doctor Who: Dark Horizons by Jenny T. Colgan

20130724-093637 PM.jpg

‘Om a windswept northern shore, the islanders believe the worst they have to fear is a Viking attack. Then the burning comes. Water will not stop it. It consumes everything in its path – yet the burned still speak.

The Doctor encounters a people under attack from a power they cannot possibly understand. They have no weapons, no strategy and no protection against a fire sent to engulf them all. The islanders must take on a ruthless alien force in a world without technology; but at least they have the Doctor on their side…. Don’t they?’

I was sent this to review and I will be honest before this I had no idea about Doctor Who. (I know, I know, stop shouting at me you Who nuts!) I’d never watched a episode or read a book, but what intrigued me was the fact this is loved by so many people I know. So I wanted to get my hands on a copy and see what all the fuss was about, also I must confess that Jenny Colgan being the author swayed it massively.

I found myself really enjoying the intriguing storyline and found the Doctor extremely witty.

The story follows a Princess, Vikings and a remote Scottish Island and of course the Doctor. Of course I could go into more detail but that would give it all away!

Not only was this a fun and enjoyable read, Jenny Colgan proves she isn’t just a Chicklit writer. I would certainly pick up another Doctor Who book on the strength of this book.

For Doctor Who fans, it’s obviously an absolute must, for people who aren’t fans this will hopefully grab your interest for sure.

Here is where to grab your own copy;

http://amazon.co.uk/dp/184990457X

Leave a Reply

