2013 Book Reviews

Party Games by Jo Carnegie

20130708-123034 PM.jpg

‘FOR THE PERFECT LIFE….YOU HAVE TO BREAK SOME RULES

I’m Vanessa Powell.

People think they know me because I’m famous. They think I’ve got the world at my feet and the husband every woman wants to marry.

But fame can be a lonely place and the perfect marriage can be even lonelier. Now someone’s come into my life who makes me feel alive.

For the first time ever, I’m thinking about what I really want. No matter what the consequences.’

This was the first book I read of Jo Carnegie, so I was really sure what to expect. The blurb drew me in and I instantly wanted to know all about Vanessa. Who doesn’t want to read about a “celebrity” even if they are fictions.

The story wasn’t just about Vanessa and her infidelity with the hunky gardener (which we can’t blame her for when you meet her brute of a husband).
The story focuses on several characters within the town and weaves them all together which has you turning the pages dying to find out about what is going on elsewhere.

My particular favourite line of story was Beau the local rich play boy and the Fleur the local farm girl who become a really endearing pairing.

I also found myself really enjoying the political side of the book, something that I normally wouldn’t read. But the way the story is written and the passion the characters had for their town had me cheering them on.

They only way I can describe this book so you can get a grapple on what it is about, is by saying its like a soap opera, it’s full of drama, lies, scandal, affairs, friendship, love and a sense of coming together.

This is an absolute page turner and I thoroughly enjoyed it.

The link for your own copy is right here:
It was published July 4th.
http://amazon.co.uk/dp/0552166812

Leave a Reply

