2013 Book Reviews

Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

20130703-084326 PM.jpg

‘Sky, a senior in high school, meets Dean Holder, a guy with a promiscuous reputation that rivals her own. From their very first encounter, he terrifies and captivates her. Something about him sparks memories of her deeply troubled past, a time she’s tried so hard to bury. Though sky is determined to stay far away from him, his unwavering pursuit and enigmatic smile break down her defences and the intensity of the bond between them grows. But the mysterious Holder has been keeping secrets of his own, and once they are revealed, Sky is changed forever and her ability to trust may be a casualty of the truth.

Only by courageously facing the stark revelations can Sky and Holder hope to heal their emotional scars and find a way to live and love without boundaries. Hopeless is a novel that will leave you breathless, entranced, and remembering your own first love.’

This is the first Colleen Hoover book I have read, Colleen Hoover is a name that I often hear with the sentences
“You can’t put her books down”
“You would love her books”
So from hearing only good things I decided it was time to see what all the fuss was about.

After receiving Losing Hope to review I spoke to some fellow bookworms and they advised me to read Hopeless, the first book, before starting Losing Hope.

Within the first paragraph I was sucked in. The voice was told from Sky’s voice and if you follow my reviews, you will know that’s how I love my stories told.
The writing was easy to read and it flowed from the page with ease.
It will be hard to review this in my normal style, going into some detail, as it really will give the story away! And boy, do I hate those reviews with spoilers.

So instead of going into detail about the story I will talk about how I felt about the characters.

With Cass, at first I was unsure, she seemed very laid back with her making out with boys style. She came across as easy. But then hearing she was a virgin I grew to actually respect her.
What I liked most about her was she wasn’t a push over when it came to Holder, she stood her ground and she had a wicked sense of humor.

She was brought up never using technology of any kind (I know, us twitter addicts can’t imagine that right?). She was also home schooled all her life until she put her foot down and managed to make her adoptive mum agree she could go to school.
Being the new girl she was instantly picked on and had notes with ‘slut’ ‘Whore’ etc left on her locker. I LOVED the way she dealt with this.

Holder, oh my what can I say about Holder? He was the perfect “bad boy” brooding, possessive, angry, need I go on? I’m salivating!

He was sent to a young offenders prison for beating up a gay pupil at his school.
Now he is back, and after spotting Sky in a supermarket and staring at her making her very uncomfortable and scared, he doesn’t let her out of his sight.

The two of them become an item, and their relationship is certainly rocky. Although the sexual tension oozes off the pages, Sky is no push over and won’t let Holder off with the way he behaves.

There are lots of secrets and lies that come out throughout the book and bombshells that had me screaming ‘WHAT?’ And ‘NO WAY!’ Whilst walking down the street. (It was so embarrassing!)

Hopless is of the NA genre, New Adult, which I have only recently discovered and I’m so greedy for more!

I thoroughly enjoyed this book and really recommend it. It was extremely hard to put down and I think that shows an author who can write a story well.
I’m now eager to Hoover up (see what I did?) anymore books of Colleen Hoover’s I can lay my hands on.

This book was sexy, emotional, shocking and made me fall in love!

Here is the link to grab your own copy;
Hopeless
http://amazon.co.uk/dp/B00AQ3K8IU

One thought on “Hopeless by Colleen Hoover

Leave a Reply

