Just for fun!

A picture for today!

20130529-083400 PM.jpg

Hello my little bookworms, how are you all?

I saw this and it got me thinking about films that REALLY let the books down.
One that I was so disappointed in was The Time Traveler’s Wife by Audrey Niffenegger, the biggest let down of all was the character of Henry. In the book his character is quite dark, his aggressive, a drunk, a drug addict and he has mood swings. But for the film they made him out to be a romantic hero.

I mean what’s that about? Even with all his problems Claire still loved the bones of him so why change him, just to make him more marketable no doubt!

Since then I have avoided all films that are made from novels as I get really quite angry. 😉

Another film that actually makes me boil with Rage: Misery by Stephen King.
The book is one of my favourites it’s BRILLIANT. But the film well they completely ruined the whole allusion of Annie. In the book she literally lives in a pig sty, it’s dirty and grubby just like she is. Yet in the film she seems to be immaculate and notices an ornament being slightly moved!

What films have really let you down? Let me know.

Until next time bookworms 🙂

3 thoughts on “A picture for today!

  1. OMG I can’t even begin to tell you how disappointed I was with The Dark is Rising, and that was even with the amazing Christopher Ecclestone in it! They totally destroyed one of my favourite ever books!

  2. I’m one of those rare people that is able to see the book and the adaptation as separate entities. Adaptations have to be different to make sure they work for TV/film else they wouldn’t make sense for non-readers of the books, who make up a large portion of the people watching. I quite like seeing the differences they make to make it transfer better to screen. But that’s not to say the book’s not better. 😉

Leave a Reply

