2013 Book Reviews

The Sky Song Trilogy by Sharon Sant, book 1, 2 & 3

Sky Song; Book 1

20130521-053355 PM.jpg

AN UNKNOWN PAST. AN UNWANTED DESTINY. A FIGHT FOR SURVIVAL.

A strange-eyed boy with no memory of his true identity or real parents, Jacob could have no idea of the mortal danger he has been in every day of his life for fifteen years. Now that danger has found him and suddenly he doesn’t know who he can trust and what is real anymore. All he knows is that his new identity is almost as terrifying as the peril unleashing it has brought. Caught in the universal power struggle of an ancient race if beings and a destiny demanded of him that he does not want, he must fight to protect his own life and everyone he holds dear. But when the time comes, will he be strong enough to make the sacrifices that saving them will demand.

This is another ebook (yes I know two in two days!) and it’s also the first book of a trilogy. What can I say? I’ve struggled all day to put into words just how much I enjoyed this book. I’m fairly new to The YA and Sci-Fi/Fantasy genre, only really starting on these types of books this year. So I was a tad apprehensive when starting Sky Song as I wasn’t sure what I would make of it.
But I can honestly say that I absolutely loved this book and the story of Jacob trying to deal with his fate/destiny.

It all starts with Jacob being visited through the night by a stranger trying to tell him his true identity. Telling him he really comes from somewhere very far away, revealing a destiny that he certainly doesn’t want any part of. It soon becomes clear that Jacob doesn’t really have much choice and he has to make heartbreaking choices too hard for an adult, let alone a teenage boy. He must leave the world and family he loves and knows so well and take his place within this over world that awaits him.

I want to go into so much more detail (as I always do) but I fear I would ruin the story.

Jacob has two friends within the story Ellen and Luca who help have always known he has been “different” and find it hard to come to term with his erratic and unexplained behaviour, not knowing how to help.
The way Sharon writes about each character leaves you genuinely caring about each one of them and desperately hoping that they will survive what happens. And I also found it hard to choose a favourite character this early on, I feel it could be anyone of them as I read the next two books.

I loved that Sharon didn’t feel the need to use simple vocabulary/wording it being of a YA genre. I loved the way the words flowed and ran off the pages, I was completely hooked until the very end. It was a real page turner. Reading it did have me thinking about Harry Potter, (no bad thing!) in the sense that Love plays a big part. And the way Jacob came into the world, then being put on Earth for protection. But it’s not at all like Harry Potter, being a massive Potterhead I sort of saw some very small things that made me think of it.

This story has left me excited for the next instalment and I cannot wait to find out how the next story will progress. I really recommend you give this a go, even if its not your normal genre, because its so well written and brilliantly descriptive you may just end up loving it.

Here’s the link; http://amazon.co.uk/dp/B00B0CQWV8
At £1.59 it’s a absolute bargain!

The Young Moon; Book 2

20130522-044417 PM.jpg

“It is a prophecy, Watcher. And it foretells your destruction.

So comes the stark warning from Astrae. But what does it mean the prophecy that tells of the young moon actually mean?
Two years have passed and Jacob’s search for the second successor brings him back to Earth. But his Watcher powers seem to be useless as the other successor remains shrouded in mystery…and he soon discovers his bitter uncle Maskash is hot on the trail…”

Okay so last night the incredibly talented and lovely Sharon Sant let me have book 2, The Young Moon, to read and review. Of which I cannot express how thankful I am and how really excited i was about it. This book made me fall in love with the series completely! This is a fantastic, FANTASTIC second book. I could literally gush all day. It took me a total of three hours to complete, I was just that hooked.

We start the story learning that Jacob has spent two years in Astare, his home planet. Where he is learning to become a watcher. Training hard everyday to be master his powers and trying to block out his feelings for Ellen and how his family will be missing him.
He comes home to find out his dad, Phil, has cancer. He could change that but the consequences are too severe and he has no choice but to watch his dad die.
When he sees Ellen for the first time his feelings are just as intense as before he left, but boy is she mad at him. He never got in touch and she worried. Seeing Luca, well nothing changed, he was happy his best friend was home, as Jacob was to be home.
But….. His not home for long, while away he learned of a twin sister. Another successor, who, if she agrees will take Jacob’s place as watcher and he can stay on Earth with his family.
But first he must find her. He only has six months then he must return…..for good.

Jacob learns his sister is living in America. Ellen decides to give Jacob her Uni money to go find her and Luca goes with him, refusing to let him do this alone. If he does find her will she accept Jacob’s story or fight it like he did? Will she agree to train and become a Watcher? And will he get her before Makash?

Whilst trying to find his sister, the Astraen Council inform Jacob to stop and come back, they have found an Ancient Scroll, a Prophecy that foretells Jacob’s destruction.

But will Jacob stop trying to find a way to stay on Earth and give into the destiny that awaits him?

Okay how to even begin to tell you just how clever this follow up was?
It was brilliantly written and had me desperately hoping that Jacob could have all he wanted. I was heartbroken for Jacob and the momentous burden he carries on such young shoulders. His so confused and he is so desperate to please everyone he sometimes makes rash choices and then things go wrong. He isn’t at fault his a young boy trying to do right.
In this book Luca grows into a BRILLIANT character. He becomes Jacobs rock, refusing to let him face anything alone, although clearly terrified he puts on this brave act. And his loyalty to his friend is commendable. It’s what I loved in this story.
The love and tension between Ellen and Jacob is unbearable, I just desperately wanted them to just be together.
I also love that Ellen and Jacob’s mother, Maggie, have become such firm friends while Jacob was away. I like to think that Ellen looks to Maggie as the mother that she never had.

In this book I cried my eyes out and GASPED IN HORROR (good gasps) at the twists in the end, I really didn’t see any of it coming. Yet again it’s left me gagging for the next instalment of the Sky Song Trilogy.

Hand on heart I can say that I am a firm fan of Sharon Sant and will be greedily awaiting any future book that she writes.

This is the link for The Young Moon;
http://amazon.co.uk/dp/B00BQMN5M6

Not Of Our Sky; Book 3

20130523-095953 AM.jpg
“Jacob fights for his life and Ellen faces her toughest decision yet: wether to finally reveal his true identity to his parents. For Jacob is one of the Watchers of Astrae, a race of being with extraordinary powers, and sworn to protect the natural order of the universe. But Jacob has broken one of Astrae’a laws and chaos threatens to cover the Earth.
Alex faces the fall into darkness that has long been prophesied. Her only ally is Makash, their bitter and twisted uncle, and Jacob has already succumbed to the shadows. Who will be there to catch her?….”

So this is book 3 of the Sky Song Trilogy and I was again really lucky to be given it by the uber talented Sharon Sant. I always worry with Trilogy’s, as sometimes there is one book that falls flat…. Well not with this trilogy. Sharon’s writing is exciting, flows together nicely and falls off the pages. This trilogy is easy to read and grips you as a reader.

Jacob is in a coma, at home. His being cared for by his parents and Ellen. Saving his dads life goes completely against all of Astrae’s laws. And as a consequence Jake may never come out of his coma.
Ellen is dreaming of Jacob coming face to face with his sister, Alex and uncle, Makash, always waking up before knowing wether he survives. She has always been tuned into Jacob, so what could these dreams mean?
Meanwhile Makash is doing everything he can do make Alex stop all connections between Jacob and the Astraen Council, and telling her she must kill Jacob for Alex to become the new Watcher.
Alex is confused and her feelings for Jacob and her Uncle are causing her to doubt and rethink things. She is angry and being manipulated. She is also having the same dreams as Ellen.

Why are they having these dreams?
Is the prophecy finally about to become true?

I loved that a lot of this story was told through Ellen’s perspective. Each book gives each character a chance to shine a little. I found this enjoyable and hard to then have a favourite although Ellen wins on sheer girl power 😉

Yet again we have unexpected twists and turns that leaving us greedily reading page after page. The writing is so well done I was in tears for a lot of this book. I think that is always a sign of a talented writer, evoking such emotions from a reader. And Sharon Sant does so easily.

Throughout the trilogy we also have humour. It’s very well done, one second you are shocked the next tearful and then laughing.

Even if Sci-Fi/Fantasy isn’t you’re normal genre, that doesn’t matter, the story of each character’s journey and the loyalty and love they have for one another will still have you turning the pages. So really, give this a try because you will be very pleasantly surprised.

I feel slightly bereft that the story is finished with now, but I know it won’t be long before I am within it’s pages again.

Here is the link to get your copy;
http://amazon.co.uk/dp/B00CF5V91C

Leave a Reply

