Just for fun!

A picture for today!

20130515-012728 PM.jpg

This picture got me thinking about the first book to ever keep me up past 1am.

It was Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows. I’d always found that some books would keep me up all night but this book kept me up the latest.

I jumped on the Harry Potter band wagon VERY late. I refused to read them saying they are just for kids and its about magic, magic isn’t real. Then when my daughter was born in September 2010 I was home bored (I know with a newborn that sounds crazy but I was!) I had just finished the latest Sophie Kinsella book and I couldn’t get out to get a new book. So my husband gave me the first Harry Potter, after much eye rolling and refusal I gave in. Within the first two pages I was completely and utterly hooked.

I sent my husband off to the library to get the rest ready for when I needed them, he drove to 4 different libraries, (hormonal women have amazing power over men). And so I read all 7 books in one week.

The last book, Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, I sat up until 2am so desperate to finish it, not caring I had a two yr. old and 3 week old to deal with the next day, I just needed to find out how it all finished and how Harry would ever beat Voldemort.

I wept like a complete girl throughout the last two chapters and for the first year of my daughters life I re-read Harry Potter over and over and over again.
My obsession with Harry Potter is still as strong and I still often go back again and again.

So what books have kept you up through the night?

4 thoughts on “A picture for today!

  1. The one book I have a powerful memory of staying awake until I had finished reading it was The Perks Of Being A Wallflower. That was the first time I can remember being so engrossed in a plot that I literally couldn’t put it down! xxx

Leave a Reply

