2013 Book Reviews

Six Years by Harlan Coben

Harlan Coben, Six Years

I am a HUGE Harlan Coben fan, ever since picking up Tell No One, years ago. So it will be of no suprise that i was banging the shop doors down to get my copy of Six Years.
I was even lucky enough to MEET the man himself and get my copy signed! (I KNOW!)

“you have to remember the wedding” I said
I heard the desperation in my own voice, and didn’t like it. Reverend Kelly tried to meet my eye, but he couldn’t quite do it. “Are you calling me a liar?”
“You remember,” I said “Why won’t you help me?”
“I don’t remember,” he said. “But why are you anxious to find the wife of another man or, if your story is true, a recent widow?”
“To pay my respects,” I said.
My hollow words hungin the arlike thick humidity. No one moved. No one spoke. Finally Reverend Kelly broke the silence. “I think it’d be best if you left immediately.”

This story is written with Jake Fisher, the male lead, telling the story of how he fell in love with Natalie. Who leaves him and marries an old flame the day after finishing with him. She asks him to make a promise to leave them alone and never go looking for them, to which he promises, even whilst nursing a broken heart. A promise he keeps for six years. That is until he comes across the obituary of Todd Sanderson, Natalie’s husband. He attends the funeral, hoping to see Natalie, but the widow isn’t Natalie. The widow at the funeral has been married to Todd and has children with him, so where is Natalie? As Jake begins to question everything he knew about Natalie, he realises he may not really know anything about her. He goes in search of old friends and family but no one seems to know who he is talking about, everything he thought he knew, he questions. He even starts to question those around him, and has to run from some very nasty people also trying to find out some answers that Jake cannot answer.

This story was full of suspense and left me desperate to know what really happened to Natalie, why do none of their old friends remember her or Jake?
It was gritty and violent and really rather romantic, after six years Jake was still completely in love with Natalie and so determined to find out where she went.
I was left eager to finish to get the answers I was looking for.

Harlan Coben has the power to draw you in, let you think you know how it’s going to end and then twists the story leaving you shocked and amazed. He twists and turns the plot so you never see what is coming up until the very last page. His writing is magnetic and won’t let you stop for a breather, you HAVE to carry on and on until you realise it’s 2am and you only have one chapter to go. So how can you possibly stop?

20130501-102617 PM.jpg

20130501-102656 PM.jpg

Leave a Reply

